Featured Artist – Ginger Lucero | @sxethang

From gamer junkie to iPhoneography enthusiast, Ginger Lucero has climbed the iPhonic Art world quickly.  Last year Lucero was into iPhone games when she was first introduced to iPhoneography. Lone behold the person who introduced her to this medium wrote her off immediately, which only fueled Gin to pursue iPhoneography even more! Boy am I glad she did! Her work is awe-inspiring, truly unique and a labor of love. In her short period working in this medium Lucero has achieved many accolades many wish to obtain. Gin has become a good friend and one of my favorite artists, all due this medium we love.  Enough about what I think, here’s Ginger Lucero!

Sticks & Stones

EC: Tell me about yourself? Where are you from?

GL: I am a domestic engineer with 2 children. I’ve also been engaged 16 years. Yes, you read that right…16 years!

I live in Albuquerque, New Mexico. And in my spare time I enjoy my iPhone, of course. I also like to read and write poetry.

A Glimpse of Paradise

EC: How did you get into mobile photography/iPhoneography?

GL: An old friend introduced me to Hipstamatic, the gateway app. After that I was hooked.

Mind Control

EC: What does mobile photography/iPhoneography mean to you?

GL: iPhoneography means the world to me. I don’t think I could go a day without it. It’s so convenient to always have a camera in pocket. Being able to pull it out and take a picture when you find something you really like is a must in today’s society.

I Won’t Bite

EC:Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that you yourself were blown away by and made you pursue mobile photography more passionately?

GL: The first image I did was called, Can of Sky Blue. I remember playing with some then, new apps. I took a picture I had of a sky and added it to a can of paint. I was really amazed that I did this with just my iPhone.

Can of Sky Blue

EC: Your images encompass many elements from layering textures and figures to shadows and graphics. Can you talk to me about the elaborate production behind your work?

GL: I like a mixture of different things. Sometimes I like a simple clean image But for the most part, I like my images to have texture, I also like things a bit unusual.

Silence

EC: How often do you work on your iPhoneography? Do you spend a numerous amount of time on working and reworking your photos?

GL: I always have my camera with me, that’s the best part of the iPhone. Some days are spent just shooting other days creating. On the days when the creativity flows, I run my images from app to app. It’s a process really. I can spend hours on one photo, and it only feels like minutes. It’s really easy to get lost in my thoughts while I’m constructing my next image.

Tunnel Vision

EC: How has social media such as Twitter and Instagram helped or hindered the way you choose to share your work with others?

GL: They really do help. Especially Instagram. It’s great to post something and get that instant feedback. I think as an artist, we all crave that. And sharing my work with others that get it is just wonderful.

Words You Can’t Erase

EC: Do you have any formal training regarding traditional photography?

GL: No. But someday I will.

The Fence

EC: What types of subjects do you like to shoot?

GL: I like trees, skies, landscapes and self portraits. But it’s really hard to narrow it down to just those 4, as I’m sure I’ll think of something after this is done.

Memories From the Past

EC: Who inspires you? Who are your artistic influences?

GL: It’s hard to narrow that down to just a hand full of people. I find inspiration every time I open up Instagram and see the amazing work of the people I follow. I have a friend that’s a Surreal Artist, his name is Chris Bradley. I remember just being blown away at the pieces he creates and the genius that pours out him, he really is amazing.

The Traveling Salesman

EC: When you’re in a creative block what do you do to break out if it? Do you look at the work of other iPhoneographers to be re-inspired?

GL: When a creative block strikes, so do I. I know at that point it’s time to give myself a break. I’ll go back and look at work I’ve done, check the camera roll, and let the whole process fix itself. I think it’s better that way.

Sweet Lies

EC: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

GL: I can honestly say that I haven’t encountered any. But then again, it is the only camera I really know.

Summers Last Flight

EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?

GL: I’ve had the privilege of having my work seen in Life in Lofi’s Faved on Flickr , iPhoneography Central’s, Apps Uncovered, The App Whisperer’s Flickr Group Showcase, Pixels: The Art of The iPhone, Scratchcam Flickr Faves, iPhoneart’s Artist of The Day, WeAreJuxt Showcase, and iPhoneography’s Through the Lens of An iPhone.

Recently I had the honor of having 3 pieces exhibited in The LA Mobile Art Festival, and an article in Barron’s Magazine.

Well, Hello! Fancy Meeting You Here!

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs/images?

GL: I think the most surprising reaction is my work being noticed, having people comment and saying they like what I do. That always surprises me.

Insatiable

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag? What are a few of your favorite apps that you’re currently using at the moment?

GL: I have an Olloclip that I carry with me. Apps, Hipstamatic, ScratchCam, Decim8, Glaze, Smoosh, 645 Pro. I have a total of 257 photo apps on my iPhone.

Motion Sickness

EC: Where do you see iPhoneography/mobile photography in the future?

GL: I see iPhoneography only getting better. I see it becoming accepted as a real art form. I think it might take time, but we’ll get there!

Morning Thoughts of Yesterday

EC: One last question, do you mind telling us how you have created a recent piece of iPhonographic work from start to finish?

GL: Sure!

Step 1. The original was taken with Hipstamatic. I then used Superimpose to add the bolt which I had saved as a stamp. Followed by Smoosh to give it the painterly look on just my face.

STEP 2. I then took the image and ran it through Glaze till I got the effect I desired.

STEP 3. I took the same image as in step one and ran it through Decim8.

STEP 4. Last I blended the images in steps 2 and 3 in Imageblender, and finished it off with Camera Awesome.

The end result is this, entitled The Oddity 3

The Oddity 3

EC: WOW! What a splendid workflow Gin! Thank you for sharing your techniques with us!

Thank you Gin, for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, our Facebook Page, Twitter, and Instagram. I’m so happy to have had the opportunity to get to know more about you and honored to have you share your work here on the blog.

For more on Ginger check out these links:

Flicker
Twitter and Instagram: @sxethang
iPhone Art

All images shown here are copyrighted property of the artist and are published on all iPhoneogenic outlets with the consent of the artist, please contact Ginger Lucero for copyright privileges.

Featured Artist – Mel Harrison | @mahoganyturtle
Featured Artist – Maddy McCoy | The Real McCoy

Featured Artist – Tuana Aziz | @tuana
Artist of the week – Roger Guetta | @RogerGuetta | @draman
Artist of the Week – Amy Leibrand | @_thisspace_

©iPhoneogenic2012

14 responses to “Featured Artist – Ginger Lucero | @sxethang

  1. I’ve been following Gin on Instagram and love her work. So nice to learn more about her journey. I’m a newbie at iPhoneography and am addicted to this ever evolving art form! I’ll be watching for more beautiful creations from Gin.

    Like

  2. Wonderful read, Ginger! … being a big fan of your work, it was such a joy to get an inside glimpse of you and your work process.

    16 years??!! All I could think when I read that was … “Boy, they better have one amazing honeymoon planned!” :-))

    Like

    • Thank you, Jackie! I’m happy to’ve shared it! I’m happy you enjoyed it.

      Yes, crazy I know! One day…and of course the honeymoon has to be fantastic…especially after waiting for so long!! :)

      Like

  3. Just getting around to reading this feature. You’re one of my fave
    are-teests :-) I don’t follow IG or Flickr so don’t get to see enough of your work but enjoyed the read here – accolades muchly deserved :-) keep it up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

