Featured Artist – Lynette Jackson | @LynetteJackson

Graphic design and architecture play to the strengths of Lynette Jackson, a visionary and already legend of iPhoneography. Jackson’s style is all her own, unmatched and astonishing. Lynette has developed a formula that brings a unique marriage between these two elements in our visual world to conceptualize something never seen in the iPhoneography medium. The results are remarkable, visually stunning and incredibly technical. What else I love about Jackson is that she doesn’t want to be known as a one trick pony, she has stepped out of her comfort zone and has begun to work on other aspects of mobile photography which can stand on their own. LJ never ceases to amaze me no matter what she decides to share with the rest of us.

Please enjoy the words and work of Lynette Jackson…

No._2014

EC: Tell me about yourself? Where are you from?

LJ: I currently live in metropolitan Atlanta, Georgia. My fulltime/day job is in Telecommunications.

No._2023

EC: How did you get into iPhoneography/mobile photography?

LJ: While surfing the internet looking for visual inspiration I stumbled upon Sion Fullana’s iPhoneography.

I wanted more information about iPhoneography, so I googled the term, several blogs appeared. I was blown away by the work shown. I downloaded Hipstamatic which was soon followed by several other photo apps. I am hooked, some may say obsessed with iPhoneography.

No._413

EC: What does iPhoneography/mobile photography mean to you?

LJ: Freedom. There isn’t pressure to have the latest and greatest expensive camera or software. It’s easier for me to shoot my favorite subject, architecture, with an iPhone. Right now security sees my iPhone as harmless. My iPhone/apps give me a freedom, although it has limitations, to shoot and experiment with my subject. I can edit and process at a coffee shop or my favorite wing café.

MSCED_03132012

EC: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that you yourself were blown away by and made you pursue mobile photography/art more passionately?

LJ: I was randomly shooting with Hipstamatic, changing films and lenses, after seeing this image on the camera roll, I was blown away. It’s not much, but I was pleased with the outcome.

EC: How often do you work on your iPhoneography? Do you spend a numerous amount of time working and reworking your photos?

LJ: Yes, I work on iPhoneography almost daily. On the days I’m not posting, I’m working on images. I may spend 4-6 hours on one image working and re-working. Walk away, return and start over. I have spent 4-6 days working on a series.

No._371

EC: How has social media such as Twitter and Instagram helped or hindered the way you choose to share your work with others?

LJ: It helps to reach a broad audience daily and receive instant reaction. I can gauge what people are reacting to, also which images receive luke warm responses. Unfortunately, the daily sharing may create the need to post popular images only, which may hinder freedom.

MSCED_0209201202a

EC: Do you have any formal training regarding traditional photography?

LJ: Does reading Understanding Exposure and taking a one-on-one lighting course with the guy from the local pro-camera shop count? Oh, one weekend I attended a photography course on Venice Beach. Ha, the answer is probably no. I have learned mostly by failing, then attempting again and again. The beauty of photography is you’re always learning. It’s been my favorite creative expression to date.

No._405

EC: What types of subjects do you like to shoot?

LJ: Architecture. Architecture is my favorite subject. I have just learned to embrace the “humans” walking into my shot. I now meet with Marie Matthews (@kaphinga) on a regular basis. We spend hours discussing iPhoneongraphy, process, and editing. She is my app guru. I showed her my “other” stuff, she encouraged me to share. I recently created an alternate account to post my “other” stuff. I have not promoted that account, because I want the work to stand on its own.

No._471

EC: Who inspires you? Who are your artistic influences?

LJ: I’m inspired by mostly by Architecture and Graphic Design of the Mid-Century. Music is great. I am inspired daily by the work posted on Flickr, iPhoneart, and Instagram. The IGers on my “following” list blow me away, check that list. My artistic influences are Julius Shulman, Aitor Oritz, Ried Miles, Mark Weaver, Richard Neutra, Oscar Niemeyer, Richard Paul Lohse to name a few.

No._377a

EC: When you’re in a creative block what do you do to break out if it?

LJ: Walk away, try not to think about it. I surf my favorite blog sites and bombard myself with images of photography and design. I thumb through magazines, listen to music, then something clicks and I’m ready to go.

No._392

EC: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

LJ: The perspective issues. I am currently beta testing an app that looks very promising at correcting that problem.

No._359a

EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the mobile community?

LJ: My work has not been published. I am honored that 4 of my images were shown at LA-MAF, Los Angeles Mobile Arts Festival. I started posting my iPhoneography so that I may connect with others. I didn’t expect the anything beyond that connection. I am grateful for the appreciation and support of my expression.

No._321

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your images?

LJ: The most surprising reaction is how well others react to architecture. It’s been great connecting with others who are passionate about architecture.

No._253

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag? What are a few of your favorite apps that you’re currently using at the moment?

LJ: VSCOcam is my baby right now. I always start with SnapSeed for desaturation, sharpening, straightening, and cropping. I use a minimum of 3-8 apps for each image. My current editing process involves the following apps: For tone/color filters: PictureShow, VSCOcam, CrossProcess, CameraMatic, Camera+, and PicFx. For Design: iDesign, Phonto, ImageBlender, Decim8, PicFrame, and PhotoWizard. I rarely accept the “in-and-out” result from apps. I usually go an extra step or two, maybe four, in order to customize the results.

No._350

EC: Where do you see iPhoneography/mobile photography in the future?

LJ: LAMAF brought a new level of enthusiasm for my love of iPhoneography. While attending LAMAF I listened to visitors discuss the artistry of images first, then the device second. I believe we are in the infancy of a new art medium, that’s growing into a legitimate /accepted form of expression. I recently completed my first iPhoneography commission. It’s very exciting to be a part of the mobile community.

No._472

EC: Do you mind telling us how you have created a recent piece of iPhonographic work from start to finish?

LJ: Sure!

STEP 1

Here is the original. I use the native iPhone camera for all of my shots. In the field I attempt to get the best shot possible. I usually take a landscape and portrait view of each structure. I go for the front façade elevation shot most often, it time permits then I get in closer and go for details.

STEP 2

Next I open the image in SnapSeed. Here I adjust the saturation first, even if I am converting to black and white I still adjust the saturation. I convert the image to black and white, my favorite selections are Contrast, Dark, and Film. I selected Dark for this image. I then adjust the sliders in Tune Image, I don’t remember numbers/percentage. I then straighten if needed, somehow I manage to get this one pretty straight in the field. I crop, then Sharpen or adjust Details.

STEP 3

Now it’s time for my favorite part, adding the color blocks/shapes. I have a created approximately 100 color shapes in the last 2 years. In iDesign I have created a square template and a rectangle template. I changed the square template to the desired colors for this design. Constantly changing these colors have resulted in a library of color shapes. For blending I use ImageBlender. Here I placed the color square on top of the base image.

STEP 4

I add the second color shape. I may add, remove, rotate, color shapes and adjust blending mode for an hour. I have taken longer. For this image I used the blend mode Normal.

STEP 5

Once I am satisfied with the new base image (black and white with color shapes) I bring the image into Phonto. Here I used typography as a design element.

Finally, I bring the image into VSCOcam for final adjustments. I like Fade #3 or #4.

EC: What other thoughts would you like to share?

LJ: I want to thank everyone for taking time to view my images. And thanks to iPhonegenic for a great blog.

No._G335-02

Thank you LJ, for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, our Facebook Page, Twitter, and Instagram. I’m so happy to have had the opportunity to get to know more about you and honored to have you share your work here on the blog.

For more on Lynette check out these links:

iPhoneart
Flickr
Twitter: @LynetteJackson
Instagram: @P67_byLynetteJackson
EyeEm: @Lynette_Jackson
Tumblr

All images shown here are copyrighted property of the artist and are published on all iPhoneogenic outlets with the consent of the artist, please contact Lynette Jackson for copyright privileges.

Featured Artist Ginger Lucero | @sxethang
Featured Artist – Mel Harrison | @mahoganyturtle

Featured Artist – Maddy McCoy | The Real McCoy

Featured Artist – Tuana Aziz | @tuana
Artist of the week – Roger Guetta | @RogerGuetta | @draman

©iPhoneogenic2012

Leave a Reply

