Storytellers – Mel Harrison | @mahoganyturtle

In this continuing feature here on iPhoneogenic we take a look a new series of images in progress by a past featured artist, Mel Harrison. Melancholy is a dark but whimsical collective set of images that speaks volumes. Created by Mel’s inner moments the character in the Melancholy series not only provides stunning visual creativity, but also words of wisdom in the captions. This is a very special collection Mel is producing and we look forward to a future book with images used as illustrations.

 

Mel Harrison – Melancholy:

 

The courage of the poet is to keep ajar the door that leads into madness – Christopher Morley

 

Edi invited me to introduce you to Melancholy, the latest muse in the Mahogany Turtle menagerie. Melancholy appeared to me out of the shadows of an image I was working on, she peeked around the corner of the open door. She was in the dark, hidden but I spotted her and I brought her out into the light.

 

Mother love is the fuel that enables a normal human being to do the impossible. – Marion C. Garretty

 

So who is Melancholy? She is a sensitive lass. She carries the weight of the world on her shoulders. Perhaps she is trying to find herself, working out where she belongs in this world so strange.

 

Be Outstanding

 

Is she me? Not directly, I certainly feel a connection to her though. There has been a fair share of darkness in my life, thankfully those days are far behind me and I use the strength gained in those times as positive force. It is these moments that Melancholy expresses so well. At first glance she does seem very sad, but I think she has some inspirational messages she is wanting to share with you all.

 

The time you feel lonely is the time you most need to be by yourself. – Doug Coupland

 

I am loving exploring the art side of my iDevices, both my iPhone and my iPad are being used to create Melancholy’s world. I am using a stylus, I am finding the accuracy is much better then my fingers and the fatigue issues with my hand are not as pronounced with stylus use. I am using a combination of photographs, and illustration to create each scene. The apps I am using vary with each image but the base apps that are uniform across the series are; PaintFX, Pixlromatic, ScratchCam, Juxtaposer, Image Blender and a lot of them have some aspect of my new favourite app, Glaze.

 

Answers appear when you just stand still – Missy Higgins

 

Where to for Melancholy? I would love to write a book featuring her in illustrations. So that will be my focus for her.

 

So the darkness shall be the light, and the stillness the dancing. – T. S. Eliot

 

Thank you for letting me share Melancholy with your readers Edi, I do so hope they enjoy her journey.

 

Who can be Melancholy holding a red balloon

Gone, and a cloud in my heart. – Alfred Tennyson

Red Riding Hood

 

-Mel

 

Storytellers by Lene Basma | @son3nne
Storytellers by Stephanie Meckfessel | @keenemomma
Storytellers by Christian Peacock
Storytellers by @StarRush360
Storytellers by @EdiCaves

 

©iPhoneogenic2012

 

4 responses to “Storytellers – Mel Harrison | @mahoganyturtle

Leave a Reply

