Featured Artist – Joanna Dunford | @joanna

Midway through last year (2012) Joanna Dunford introduced herself to me on Instagram and I immediately fell in love with her work and personality. Since this encounter I have steadily followed her progress as a premier mobile shooter and activate proponent of the medium, sharing a column on the mobile resource site, WeAreJuxt.   Jo, as she’s also known the community, has wonderful work full of rich subject matter and bold monotones. In this exclusive interview Jo shares her thoughts and stunning work.

sound of the surf

sound of the surf

EC: Tell me about yourself? Where are you from?

JD: Hello! I am from a seaside town in the South of England called Bournemouth.  I have lived near this town for most of my life and whenever I have had to move away, I always find my way back eventually.  I live here with my husband and two children & my dog.

Slipping through the Cracks

Slipping through the Cracks

EC: How did you get into mobile photography/iPhoneography?

JD: I got into iPhoneography by accident I guess.  Two years ago, a friend recommended the Instagram app to me.  Really, just as a way to stay in touch with each other through photos because she lived in the states and it was convenient.  I started out with some interesting shots of my breakfast and coffee and it was only when I started looking at what other people were doing that it opened my eyes to iPhoneography.

I found some great street photographers through instagram and was inspired to try it myself.  I remember the first time I snapped a photo of a stranger.  The rush I got from taking a candid shot was like no other and I was hooked from then onwards.  I have been on a steep learning curve ever since.

the Gift

the Gift

EC: What does mobile photography/iPhoneography mean to you?

JD: Photography for me is a hobby.  It’s something I can do to escape the occasional craziness at home and gives me that vital ‘me’ time away from my family.  It also an outlet for my creativity.

Reflections of you

Reflections of you

EC: I love the bold tones in your work. While shooting do you see things in black and white? Or how does your process work?

JD: I don’t see things in black and white but I know what may look good in black and white.  I’m not sure if that makes sense though. I am always searching for light and silhouette’s whilst out shooting.  I know they make the best black and white photos for me.  I have always loved black and white photos and yes, I have always processed my images as that.  I’d like to think that they are much better now than when I first started!

Don't fence me in

Don’t fence me in

EC: How often do you work on your iPhoneography? Do you spend a numerous amount of time working and reworking your photos?

JD: I normally try to get out and spend two to three hours shooting once a week.  Unfortunately, I am so tied up with work, I don’t get nearly as much time as I’d like. I do not spend a lot of time working on my photos. I am ridiculously quick at processing my images.  I have a few apps that I like to use and it either works or it doesn’t.

8

8

EC: Do you have any formal training regarding traditional photography?

JD: No. I have no training.  I am just self-taught.  I wish I had more time to learn though.  I have toyed with the idea of going to evening classes at college and learning more about digital & film photography but again, I don’t have time.  One day though, I’ll fit it in!

the edge

the edge

EC: What types of subjects do you like to shoot?

JD: Right now I spend a lot of time at the beach and really love to capture reflections, stillness and silhouettes in wide open spaces & landscapes.

Welcome Fishies to my Hook

Welcome Fishies to my Hook

EC: Who inspires you? Who are your artistic influences?

JD: The mobile photography community as a whole inspires me.  I see so much talent there; it’s easy to find inspiration.

Duplicate

Duplicate

EC: When you’re in a creative block what do you do to break out if it?

JD: That’s a tough one. It’s such an individual thing, for me though, spontaneity is the key. For example, going somewhere last minute or giving myself say 30 minutes to shoot as much as possible in one location. Trying new things helps.  These things work for me, sometimes.

Clouds in the Ocean

Clouds in the Ocean

EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the mobile community?

JD: I haven’t had any work published before but I have been very lucky & fortunate to have had some of my images included in a few exhibitions around the world.   The one that was most important to me was in Seattle.  I, along with others in the mobile photography community had the opportunity to donate our images that were then auctioned to help a charity called ‘Food Lifeline’. The fact that my photo which cost me next to nothing to create, would help feed families on the other side of the world just blew my mind. Details here.

I never expect my work to be noticed by the mobile community but it’s nice when it is.

Stay

Stay

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhonographic images?

JD: I have encountered a few photographers who have had negative opinions of iphoneography/mobilephotography as a whole but personally, I have only ever received nice comments and feedback on my work.

Shadows & Sunshine

Shadows & Sunshine

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag? What are a few of your favorite apps that you’re currently using?

JD:  My go to apps are Noir Photo & Snapseed.  When creating black and white images, I use Noir 95% of the time.  Sometimes I use Vintage B & W when shooting (when I remember) and also like to have fun with Hipstamatic.

More recently, I have been experimenting with Average Camera Pro & Slow Shutter to see what effects I can create over water. I have a whole ton of apps that I may play around with from time to time but these are what I primarily use.

Queen of the castle

Queen of the castle

Work Flow

JD: I like to keep my edits really simple and the general process is a quick one.  This is how I normally edit a typical image.

·This is the original photo. Taken with the iPhone 5 native camera.
photo 1

·The first thing I do is turn it into black and white using the Noir Photo app
photo 2

·Photo 3 – Black & white image after using Noir Photo
photo 3

·The last thing I do is to open up Snapseed to straighten the horizon and to adjust the brightness slightly
photo 4

That’s it!
photo 5

EC: What other thoughts would you like to share?

JD: Really just a BIG thanks to you, Edi for the opportunity to do this interview!

Thank you Jo, for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, our Facebook Page, Twitter, and Instagram. I’m so happy to have had the opportunity to get to know more about you and honored to have you share your work here on the blog.

For more on Jo check out these links:

Tumblr: http://streetiphoneography.com
Flickr:  http://flickr.com/people/thisisjoanna
Twitter: http://twitter.com/justjo
Instagram: http://instagram.com/joanna

All images shown here are copyrighted property of the artist and are published on all iPhoneogenic outlets with the consent of the artist, please contact Joanna Dunford for copyright privileges.

Featured Artist – Paul Moore | @Mooro1
Featured Artist – Lynette Jackson | @LynetteJackson
Featured Artist – Ginger Lucero | @sxethang
Featured Artist – Mel Harrison | @mahoganyturtle

Featured Artist – Maddy McCoy | The Real McCoy

One response to “Featured Artist – Joanna Dunford | @joanna

Leave a Reply

