iPhoneographer of the Day – Stephen James

Today’s iPhoneographer of the Day come to us a humble young man with a great deal of passion, encouraging words, and a challenge for you!

Without further ado, the interview with the candid Stephen James…

(iPhone 365 day 134)

Q: Tell me about yourself Stephen? Where are you from?

A: I’m originally from a small town east of the Central Valley in California. I call it the arm pit of California, others call it O’Neals. Recently, I have been attending school in San Luis Obispo, California where I picked up on my photography interests. I have an outlook on life, and that is, every day is a new day. New challenges, new people, new rewards, and life lessons. Live each day to its fullest and treat each day as if its your last. Every day your a winner. I love photography and living life and my biggest challenge this year was connecting the two with my iphone 365 project.

Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

A: Iphoneography to me is an incredible new adventure into the world of photography. It is a place no one until now has dared to go, let alone, even call it art. I, like many others, are the first to explore this new idea and make into something incredible. I’m very honored to be apart of this wave, and I’m very excited to see how far we can all take it.

Q: Can you recall the first iphoto you took that made you go WOW!?

A: The first photo that I took that really made me go WOW! was just recently. My work, to me, has always been “alright.” Recently though, I have seen what I can really do and gained a good amount of confidence in myself that I never had before. It just goes to show, if you believe in yourself and push yourself, it will show in your work.

(iPhone 365 day 118)

Q: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?

A: The only “formal” training I have had was recently this last semester in school, I took a beginners film photography class. I have to say, I learned quite a bit, but I learn the most from others and from trial and error. I have learned the most from one of my good friends Matt Beechan, who actually helped me to start my iphone 365.

Q: What are your favorite subjects to photograph?

A: I absolutely love portraiture photography. I’m not talking your magazine style studio shots although they are fun and cool, I’m talking real life, real people. You know those kind of photos you take where people have funny expressions that they are not purposely making, those are my favorite to catch.

Q: Who or what are your influences?

A: My friends and my girlfriend influence me the most, They are truly my best critics, because they are honest. If they don’t like it or agree with it, then most, I believe, wont either. They always push me to top and force me to work harder. When I fall behind on my 365 project they are at my facebook page or texting me “dude where is the new stuff?”

(iPhone 3gs. Oceano dunes)

Q: What has been the single biggest challenge of using the iPhone as a camera, explain?

A: To me, the wide angle lens. there is always a lot I like to capture in a scene, but I also like to capture the close up, the macro. It definitely makes a challenge to focus when your an inch away from the subject.

Q: How do you describe your iPhoneographic style?

A: I’m not too sure how to answer this. My style I guess is trying to shoot every style. I still feel new to this art form. I can’t really say I have a particular style. I try everything, and if it works for me, I try to perfect it, then I move onto something new.

Q: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction to your iphotographs?

A: My reaction, or others? For others, I’m excited that they even look at them. Like I said before I have always had a confidence issue with my art. I love the fact people even comment or favorite my work on flikr. Its something else to me to even be doing this interview, I’m honored.

(iPhone 3gs)

Q: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? Which one do you currently use the most often?

A: I love finding new apps and experimenting with them, as we all do I suppose. Lately, I have been using Tiltshift Generator. About a month ago I started layering apps and I have been surprised with the result. These apps include, Swanko Lab, Tiltshift, Camera Bag, Photogene, Pro HDR, and Pano.

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?

A: I’m very honored to have done this interview and I thank you for allowing me to. I Also encourage all you iphone users out there to start snapping off that shutter and show us what you can come up with. Challenge yourself to something original. With all these new apps and even this new Iphone 4 the results are endless. I look forward to seeing what work you can come up with.

(iPhone 365 day 130)

For more on Stephen check out these links:

Flicker: http://www.flickr.com/photos/bystephenjames/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/spjamestwo

Like Matt, I want to send a very special shout out to Stephen for participating in this feature here on IPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. It has been an absolute pleasure to let me pick at your brain for this interview. I am truly honored to have you on my blog. My best regards!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Stephen James, please contact Stephen for copyright privileges.

Leave a Reply

