iPhoneographer of the Day – Robert-Paul Jansen

Recently I had the opportunity to send my Q&A to Robert-Paul Jansen and he did not disappoint. Better known as robertpaul in the iPhoneography community lets in us into his world in this feature. His biggest challenge in iPhoneography walks on four legs but Robert-Paul is a great enough iPhoneographer, he will soon conquer this creature of nature.

(The sunset and the mess the airplanes made in the sky)

Q: Tell me about yourself? Where are you from?

A: I am 35-years old, husband, father of two sons and I’m working as a real estate developer. I live in a small village (2.500 inhabitants) in the south of our very flat but beautiful country in the north of Europe. It’s the kind of village everybody likes due to the old farms and the natural surroundings, the vibe is very good. I moved here three years ago, so I still have a lot to discover.


Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

A: iPhoneography brings me both relaxation and excitement. When I’m taking photos, I’m only focusing on the surroundings .. my everyday life is gone. No stress, no worries. Because of that I am far more aware of the surroundings than before.

I have a Nikon DSLR camera which I love, and also use a lot to make photos.. but taking photos with an iPhone is something else… especially a 3G. 2MB camera, no focus, no flash, no nothing. Therefore so much harder to make that one good shot.

The good thing about iPhoneography is that you enjoy your photos in three different stages.

1. Shooting. You know it right away if you have made a great shot. It’s comparable to catching a big fish ;-)

2. Processing. There are many good apps to make or process photos with the iPhone. Processing is a big part in iPhoneography. A good iPhoneographer knows which app can enhance the photo and processing is fun and a good outcome is satisfactory.

3. Sharing. I love the iPhoneography community on the internet like on Flickr, Twitter, Tumblr or Posterous. Comments are like applause to me. I love a RT on Twitter or a comment on Flickr.

Q: Can you recall the first iphoto you took that made you go WOW!?

A: I just had won a copy of CrossProcess app through Twitter when I started using the camera on my iPhone on other subjects than my kids. The first photo that gave me a good feeling was one of first I took with the app. It had been snowing that night and I had trouble driving on the slippery road. It was the setting that made me stop the car, get out and to make the photo.

(Winter Wonderland)


Q: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?

A: I did not really have training. Photography has always been in my life though. I’ve always have taken loads of photos. Now and then purchased a B&W film, or even tried a Polaroid.

Now I also learn by viewing photos at sites like Flickr. I love watching those photos and they give me ideas and inspiration for the future.

Q: Whats are your favorite subjects to photograph?

A: My photos are taken in natural environment most of the times. I love taking photos of trees and water (like a river).

Trees are like the statues in nature. They have been standing there for many years, while the things surrounding them change constantly. But they fully adapt. I love taking photos of the same trees in different seasons or types of weather.

Water gives photos that extra shining flare, especially in a landscape, plus it gives you reflection which I love.

Oh, and let’s not forget clouds..

I would like to make more photos of people and buildings. I love street photography, because those photos can tell you a story. Landscapes and nature photos give people a good feeling though ;-)


(Sand.Road.Dust)


Q: Who or what are your influences?

A: Like I said earlier, I love watching the work of others on Flickr, Tumblr, or Twitter. They give me inspiration on subjects, composition or use of apps.

There are too many to mention.. But to name five people I really enjoy following are Daniel Berman, Dominique Jost, Hans de Kort, Michael Baranovic , Stephen James. Sion Fullana is something else..

Q: What has been the single biggest challenge of using the iPhone as a camera, explain, please?

A: I see deer all the time in the woods, but never managed to make a good photo of them with my iPhone. They are either too fast or to far away.. But I will make a photo of a deer once!

(Sunkiss’d)


Q: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? Which one do you currently use the most often?

A: I use a lot of camera apps, but there are a few apps that I use the most: Camerabag, SwankoLab, Hipstamatic, Crossprocess, ShakeItPhoto, classicINSTA, LiveFX, Camerakit, Camera+, CoolFX, TiltshiftGen, Pictureshow and Mill Colour. I use photogene as well, but only to crop images.

Currently I use CameraBag, Camera+, CoolFx, and Crossprocess (where it all started) or a combination of them. I recently re-discovered SwankoLab too. I’m using Hipstamatic less these days, but that might change.

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?

A: I am very proud to take part in such a great photography community. I see so many good photos, especially knowing they have been made with an iPhone! Imagine what will happen if iPhone 4 is there..

Also a great thanks for inviting me for this feature… I’m really honored.

(crossing the River)

For more on R-P J. check out these links:

Flicker: http://www.flickr.com/photos/robert-paul/

Tumblr: http://robertpaulphotos.tumblr.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/robertpaul

R-P, thank you for participating in this feature here on IPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook. I am honored to have you on my blog. Cheers!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Robert-Paul Jansen, please contact Robert-Paul for copyright privileges.

© iPhoneogenic 2010

Leave a Reply

