iPhoneographer of the Day – Edgar Cuevas | @edicaves

Today happens to be the first day of July.

So what!? What’s so great about today?

Well, it happens to be my birthday!!!

I wanted to take the time to fill out the Q&A that I have created for other iPhoneographers. I have been asked multiple times by others to do the Q&A on myself so I thought the only day it would be appropriate for me do so is on my birthday. 


(Winter’s Pickings)

Q: Tell me a little bit about yourself? Where are you from?
A: I am a proud resident of Houston, TX, where they say “everything is bigger in Texas!”  I am currently a student at the University of Houston Downtown where I am studying for a bachelors degree in Interdisciplinary Studies. School and iPhoneography consume my life at the moment.  Sometimes it’s difficult to find a balance between events but I manage to find time for fun.

Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?
A: Where do I begin…I’ll keep it short. I am consumed by iPhoneography.  It has become my obsession and addiction.  Lately everything I do relates back to iPhoneography somehow.  Any and every object around me is appealing through the lens of my iPhone.  To me, iPhoneography is also about what you are able to do within the device and  its constraints and being able to share it with the rest of the world.

(Shedding Left Behind)

Q: What are your favorite subjects to photograph? 

 A:  I don’t really have a particular subject that I tend to focus on, but I love to shoot nature. If you go back to the beginning of my work, much of which is not posted anywhere online, you’ll see mostly nature shots like flowers, bugs, leaves, and the sort.  I love panoramic shots of landscapes too. There is just something about panoramic shots that really intrigues me. They make me feel as though I am still there in that moment and I can remember seeing everything that was around me. Street iPhoneography presents many possibilities. Thanks to iPhoneographers like Sion Fullana, StarRush, Greg Schmigel, and Robson (iPhoneography London) I have found new inspiration in the streets.  Everything is just so real and I enjoy capturing moments in people’s lives that usually go unnoticed.


Q: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW!?
A: It may not be my best iPhoto but it’s called “Air Pearl.”  I think it is a WOW iPhoto for me because I am amazed that my 3GS was able to get such a great macro shot of a pocket of air suspended in a solution.  I would have never thought that the iPhone could turn an ordinary bubble in hand sanitizer into such a nice composition.


(Air Pearl)

Q: What makes your hometown of Houston so special to capture through your iPhone?
A:
It’s no New York or Tokyo but there are many photographers out there that have taken on Houston and shown it to be a great place for pictures. I think Houston is special because iPhoneography isn’t really well known here so there’s a lot to discover and rediscover through the lens of an iPhone.  I don’t know any iPhoneographers in Houston, so if you’re out there, I would love to meet you!

Q: Who or what are your influences in regards to iPhoneography?
A: For one, my biggest supporter is my girlfriend.  She believes in what I do as an iPhoneographer and what the iPhoneography community does.  She influences me to keep pursuing this project and keep shooting with my iPhone. 

As far as iPhoneographers, there are plenty of influential and inspiring people I follow on Tumblr, Posterous, Flickr,Twitter, and elsewhere.

Here is just a short list of some of my favorite.

Greg Louderman

Dirk Dallas

Karsten

Sion Fullana

Greg Schmigel

Knox Bronson

Ramona Gillentine 

(Twrillin Series)

Q: What inspired you to recognize others as “iPhoneographers of the Day?”

A: When I first discovered the art of iPhoneography, I was blown away.  What started out as a curiosity became an obsession.  I couldn’t wait to see what new iPhotos were being posted every day.  I stumbled across iPhoneography.com and saw that there was a feature on “The iPhoneography of…” Rather than selecting features based on individual submissions, I wanted to seek out lesser known iPhoneographers that really impressed me with their work.  I believe that talent should be recognized and I am happy to do so every day (well almost).


Q: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? Which one do you currently use the most often?

 A: The first app that introduced me to iPhoneography was Hipstamatic like so many new comers.  I loved that there was no editing involved. After I got more comfortable, I started using the regular camera more often and processing the pictures with various apps . My current work has evolved from the Hipstmatic days I would say.

 The rest of my camera bag consists of: CameraBag, Lo-Mob, FilmLab, ClassicInsta, Andigraf, CrossProcess, Effect Touch, SwankoLab, Pic Grunger, and AutoStitch just to name a few.

(Pay Here…No Checks!)


Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?

 A: Thank you all for reading my blog and inspiring me every day.  Keep up the good work because it doesn’t go unnoticed.  I bid you good day!

For more:

Tumblr:iPhone Film Lab

Flicker:EdiCaves – iPhoneFilmLab

Posterous:Edgar’s iPhone Film Lab

Twitter:EdiCaves

Facebook: iPhoneogenic

2 responses to “iPhoneographer of the Day – Edgar Cuevas | @edicaves

Leave a Reply

