iPhoneographer of the Day – Isabelle Gagné | MissPixels

Today’s iPhoneographer has one of the best nicknames around. With the name like MissPixels you better be able to deliver.  Boy has she ever! MissPixels use of color exaggerates the subject and leaves you with a sense of awe and wonder.

Let Begin….


(Homeless)

Q: Tell me about yourself? Where are you from?

A: I was born in Quebec in 1970. I am  a graphic designer and artistic director, and have been evolved in the Arts for more than 20 years. Most of my knowledge has been acquired through the university.  I create paintings, illustrations, graphic designs, and iPhoneography, which has been my principal field of activity for the past year.

Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

A: For the past year, the iPhone has become a symbolic extension of my arm and my hand. The iPhone is a new type of brush for me.

Q: Can you recall the first iphoto you took that made you go WOW!?

A: One of my first experiences with iPhoneography was when I took a pic of my friend’s  blue mini cooper after it had stopped raining. I tried to give the rain drops more expression with the apps which turned out electric.


(Yanick)

Q: Do you have any formal training regarding photography? 

A: Not really, but I have a University BAC in Visual Arts which helps with my version in photography.

Q: Whats are your favorite subjects to photograph?

A: My eyes are always seeking the unexpected. I look to improve empty spaces, to fill them with significance or humor and to give them sense. Where most look without observing, I see an astonishing iPhonography subject.

Q: Who or what are your influences as it regards to iPhoneography and the Arts?

A: My influences come form many different environments.  I admire artist such as Gary Baseman, Frank Kozilk, and Mory Chack. In iPhoneography I admire the work of Jaime Ferreyros,  Gladly Beyond, Sion Fullana, and Nique88888. 
 


(AllMine)

Q: What has been the single biggest challenge of using the iPhone as a camera?

A: To stop using it! Its like an addiction…

Q: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotos?
A: People are always surprised that the pictures are all edited with iphone apps. No traditionnal photoshop!

Q: What’s in your camera bag? What app do you currently use the most often?

A: At this time, I have near 40 iPhone camera apps. My favorite consist of: PhotoForge, CameraBag, TiltShift, ShakeIt, PictureShow, and PS Mobile.

(We Must Talk)

For more on MissPixels check out these links:

Flicker: http://www.flickr.com/photos/misspixels/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/misspixels
Other: www.misspixels.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/misspixels

I want to thank MissPixels for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of MissPixels, please contact her for copyright privileges.

© 2010 iPhoneogenic

Leave a Reply

