iPhoneographer of the Day – Fabio De Vincentiis

Thanks to iPhoneography many of us have found a new way of expression and some have rediscovered a passion for photography.  Fabio De Vincentiis has come out of his “Photo Blackout” and has produced jaw-dropping photography with his iphone

Straight out of Italy I give you FDV…

Q: Tell me about yourself? Where are you from?

A: I am from Taranto, in the south of Italy and I am 33 years old.

Q: What does iPhoneography/photography mean to you?

A: After a long time of “Photography Blackout,” shooting with the iPhone has inspired my photographic passion once again. ihoneography has helped improve my skills compared to when I only used my DSLR.

Q: Can you recall the first iphoto you took that made you go WOW!?

A: This is when I realised the power of tool I was using, and this is probably when this iPhoneography fire started. The first one I really love is this one: http://www.flickr.com/photos/fdviphone/4211349154/

Q: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?
A: Yes, I had a beginner’s photography course in my town in 2007 and then a Canon School Intermediate
Workshop in 2008.

Q: What are your favorite subjusts to photograph?

A: My dream is to become a Music Photographer. One of the warriors standing just below the stage capturing Rock’n’Roll stars during their gig…this would be a real dream come true. I also like Sports Photography. In iPhoneography, street is such an amazing thing,capturing street moments with an iPhone fasincates me. You become invisible, you’re just a person with a mobile in his hands like hundreds of others around and no one actually realizes that you’re shooting.

Q: Who or what are your influences?

A: I love old –school photographers like Elliott Erwitt, Henri Cartier Bresson and Gianni Berengo Gardin. I think that their BW pictures are such a poetry but I also love Steve McCurry colors. If I had to choose in which way I prefer to shoot…well then I should definitely choose BW.

Q: How do you describe your iPhoneographic style?

A: After being invloved in Photography for a while I fell in love with low-fi cameras like Holga, Diana, and
Polaroid. These cameras are the less technologic things on earth I guess but they are fantastic. I love the
colors they produce and if you use them with BW films, they are amazing. When I use the iPhone camera I have the same feeling I get with a Holga, so I would say I use the iPhone as my Digital-Toy-Camera.

Q: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction to your iphotographs?

A: The thing that keeps on making me laugh is that people usually didn’t believe it when I show them my iPhotos. Most of the time they think that it comes from a Reflex camera or from a BW film. This acutally really make me proud to shot with the iPhone.

Q: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? Which one do you currently use the most often?

A: The one I have been using the most lately is Hipstamatic. Most of the time I shot with the John S Lens and BlacKeys SuoperGrain film, this is the combination to use. I also use the Pistil film which gives such a wonderful effect. PhotoGene is antoher one I use often, I think you can do almost everything with this Must-Have app. Other than that Best Camera, TiltShiftGen, Camera Bag (the desktop version is amazing) and so on…

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?

A: People spend so much time arguing what’s the best…digital or analog photography. I think that Photography is communication and emotions. I really don’t care if a good pictures come from a film reflex,digital point and shoot, or with a mobile, if a picture gives you emotions then it’s a good one no matter where it comes from. So, use what you like and always try to do your best, after all the best camera is the one that’s with you.

For more on Fabio check out this link below:
Flicker: www.flickr.com/photos/fdviphone

Thank you Fabio for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Fabio De Vincentiis, please contact Fabio for copyright privileges.

© 2010 iPhoneogenic

2 responses to “iPhoneographer of the Day – Fabio De Vincentiis

Leave a Reply

