iPhoneographer of the Day – Greg Louderman

The iPhoneography Greg Louderman is strong and vocal as though it speaks to the viewer and forces and the viewer to formulate a sense of awe.  I have always wondered how Greg creates such drama in his iPhotos.  One day a few short months ago I asked Greg how I could create drama in my work and he obliged. Greg has been a major source of inspiration to me and the very first person I followed on Posterous before I ever knew about iPhoneography. Through watching Greg’s sense style and technique my iPhoto titled “Angray Sky” made the cut to be apart of the PixelsAtAnExhibition gallery exhibit in Oakland.  If it where not for Greg Louderman my passion for iPhoneography would not run so deep.

Enough about me, Let’s hear from Greg….

Q: Tell me about yourself? Where are you from?
A: I hail from a suburb west of Chicago called Hometown. Really!  This was many,many years ago ago and I now reside in the crowded but lovely suburb further west called Naperville which has fallen victim to many of my photos.

Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?
A: I have taken photos before the first iPhone came out, nothing special just the usual stuff with a little point and shoot type camera. And then came the iPhone and I started taking some photos with it with no real idea of what to do with them, it just seemed like a lot of fun to take decent photos with your phone. Then I started to pay attention to some of the photo apps that were coming out and started using them and really enjoying the photos that I was taking. To me the photos were fun and wonderful and a bit more creative than what I took with my other camera. I had posted some pics to flicker with my point and shoot camera so I thought why not post some of my iPhone ones there also? The 1st one I posted was in December of 2008 and I have continued to do that. But I soon learned that there was an emerging world out there called iPhoneography and I was really amazed at the shots that I saw. Took me a while but I finally got up enough guts to start putting my stuff out there in that world also to see what would happen and I have to say, besides the fact that anyone even looks at my shots is amazing in itself, there is the whole community in that iPhoneography world that is wonderful and supportive. They have motivated me to keep posting my shots and in turn I get to see some beautiful art from these folks. So that is what iPhoneography means to me.

Q: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?
A: I have no formal training at all but hopefully I’m learning a bit more every day.

Q: Whats are your favorite subjects to photograph?
A:. As far as what I like to photograph my inclination leans towards nature but I do want to try other avenues like street photography.

Q: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from peple to your iphotographs?
A:As far as reactions to my photos goes I don’t expect anything when I post them, but I am pleasantly surprised when there is and it is positive. It’s nice to know that one or two people enjoy them.

Q: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? Which one do you currently use the most often?
A: There are so many great apps out there and I seem to have a ton of them. But lately I have fun with Camera+, PhotoFX, PictureShow, FILMLAB, LiveFX and of course PlasticBullet. Looking forward to more great apps in the future.

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?
A: Thank you Edgar for considering me for this and I look forward to being able to continue contributing to the iPhoneography world.

For more on Greg check out these links:

Posterous: Greg57

Flickr: Greg129

Twitter: armand5

Thank you Greg for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Greg Louderman, please contact Greg for copyright privileges.

© 2010 iPhoneogenic

Leave a Reply

