iPhoneographer of the Day – Dixon Hamby

iPhoneography for many of us is a release and an escape form our everyday life. For Dixon it’s a way of healing. Not only healing him physically but mentally, allowing for his creative juices to flow. In the short time iPhoneography has become an art form, Dixon has accomplished many domestic and international accolades.

Now the interview with Dixon…

(Torn Kurt Cobain)

Q: Tell me about yourself? Where are you from?

A: Grew up in the Pacific Northwest of the U.S. and worked at Boeing for 18 years as a graphic artists and a web designer. I had the fortune to be one of the first people in the world to be trained in “computer graphics.” It was a million dollar machine called Genigraphics that made ovals, rectangles, had 24 colors and to make a curved line you had to lay down dots. I was also one of the first people to use Photoshop and do art work on a Mac. Then when the internet came along I made a website for my photography before there was any books on web design. I retired early from Boeing to travel and take photos.

Q: How did you get into iPhoneography?

A: I was hit on the head by a palm frond while walking down the street in Panama resulting in an injury to my neck. I came back to the states and a few months later got fibromyalgia. Not only was I sick and broke but what was worse I couldn’t take photos because the weight of my Canon equipment was too much for me to lift. Then I realized I did have a camera and it was called an iPhone. So it became a tool for healing.

(She’s Got legs)

Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

A: In some ways iPhoneography saved my life. It gave me a means of expression when I was sick. Now it is something I do everyday. It is also a community of wonderful friends whom I have met on Twitter.

Q: Can you recall the first iphoto you took that made you go WOW I really got something here!?

A: Yes I can. It was a row of red shopping carts outside a Target store.

Q: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?

A: I have a degree in Visual Communications from Western WA University with an emphasis in photography.

Q:What about your hometown is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?.

A: Seattle is a beautiful city. We have the Puget Sound, Pike Place Market, great parks and my neighborhood of Capitol Hill has a wide variety of interesting people.

Q: Your pole art ad shots are unique. Where did this idea of shooting pole art series come about?

A: It started when I took a photo one day while waiting for a light to change. I showed it to my girlfriend Gwendolyn Worthy who is a wonderful artist, and she remarked at how interesting it was so I pursued it further. Fortunately where I live is one of the few areas that allows pole ads. At the end of the year going to publish a book with just these images. This is the first one I took and still one of my favorites

Q: Who or what are your artistic influences?

A: As far as photography goes Henri Cartier-Bresson. I also have spent many hours in the studio with my friend and great painter Mark Bennion as he paints talking about art and life.

Q: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

A: The only challenge I have is the fixed focal length.

(Honeybee)

Q: I’ve seen your work showcased in the iPhone Photography Awards. Where else has your work been published? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?

A: Not really. At first I was just taking photos to stay sane and to take me away from the pain I was in. Enabled me to live in the moment.

-iPhontography, Pixels At An Exhibition group show at Giorgi Gallery – Berkeley, CA. Review of the show
-iPhonography and the Automobile group show- Milan Italy
-Photography Center Northwest group show
-Photo in EYE’EM phone photography show in Berlin EYE’EM
-Photos in Artistic Photographers of American presentation at San Francisco Apple Store APA
-MMS Gallery – Philadelphia Pennsylvania – group show MMS

-I also have books on Blurb http://bit.ly/6xV7U0 and calendars and t-shirts on Red Bubble http://bit.ly/5ustsj with images created on the iPhone.

(This Bikes Been Going Nowhere)

Q: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iphotographs?

A: People are literally stunned that the images are taken with an iPhone. Now I rarely use my other camera equipment.

Q: What’s in your iPhone camera bag? Which one do you currently use the most often?

A: I use Perfectly Clear first on almost every image. Great app, kind of like a quick photoshop. You just have to tone down the sharpening. Then I usually go to Camera Plus Pro and PS Mobile. I use these 3 apps for 90% of my work. At times also use Tilt Shift Generator, Photo Studio, Mill Colour and Auto Stitch. I am not a fan of apps that just apply filters for you like Hipstamtic etc. I like to be in control of the creative process.

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?

A: I love the iPhoneography community and the people I have met through Twitter. Way too many amazing artists to mention, but we all support and encourage each other. It has been a truly amazing experience.

(Atomic Bride Headless Texter)

For more on Dixon check out these links:

Tumblr: http://dixonhamby.tumblr.com/

Other: http://www.dixonhamby.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/dixonhamby

Thank you Dixon for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Dixon Hamby, please contact Dixon for copyright privileges.

© 2010 iPhoneogenic

Leave a Reply

