iPhoneographer of the Day – Bel D.

I love when I find new iPhoneographers through their comments, likes, and admiration to follow iPhotogs.  Bel is one of these cases that led me to her blog. I instantly fell in love to with her vision and point of view. Bel’s post processing may be extensive but the results are of a minimalistic appeal.

Lights…Camera…Action…

(New Amsterdam Market)

Q: Tell me about yourself? Where are you from?
A: I’m originally from South Florida, but went to college in North Carolina and studied English. Now I’m going to get my Master’s at NYU.  I love all things film related, including cinema and photography. I’m a pop culture junkie and I could write about movies for days. I also enjoy international politics, long walks on the beach and martinis, stirred not shaken.

Q: How did you get into iPhoneography?
A: iPhoneography just started out as a way to improve my iPhone photos. I mean, the iPhone is great, but without the apps the photos are a bit dull. istillshootfilm posted on her site about Hipstamatic and it looked so cool that I decided to try it out. It was the first time I had paid for an iPhone app ever.  Now it’s become a bit of an obsession. I love taking photos with my iPhone because it’s quick and easy (don’t get me wrong, I love taking photographs with film, but it’s less spontaneous).

Q: Can you recall the first iphoto you took that made you go WOW, I really got something here!?
A: Yes, it was a beauty that made me think, “Wow that came out great!” It was so unlike any of the other photos I had taken with my iPhone. I was hooked.

(Spring Day)

Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?
A: iPhoneography has become this awesome way I connect to a bunch of Tumblr folks doing the same. Having them comment, reblog and like the photos I take, as well as to see all the photos they take, is really inspiring. It’s been great connecting with all of them.

Q: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?
A: No, everything I’ve learned from photography has been self-taught. I like to think I’ve always had an eye for what makes a good picture or what makes it interesting as far as composition is concerned, but a lot of it has to do with Dorothea Lange. She was this great photojournalist during the Great Depression and her photos have really inspired me. I wouldn’t say my photos are like hers, but she has definitely made me see the world in a different way.

Q: Who or what are your artistic influences?
A: Like I said, Dorothea Lange. I love Dali’s paintings, as well as Picasso’s. Andy Warhol’s films and art really also inspire me, just because he takes the ordinary and really makes you think of its value. Film directors also inspire me. If I watch a film and think, “Wow that shot would look great as a photo!” then I know his cinematography is great. Directors like, Wes Anderson, Christopher Nolan, PT Anderson, Orson Welles, Quentin Tarantino and so many others produce great works with their Cinematographers. 

(Brooklyn Bridge)

Q: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?
A: No flash! 

Q: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iphotographs?
A: What surprises me most is just what photos they are going to like. For example, when I took the MaryAnn’s Village photo I thought it was OK. I loved the colors, but I didn’t think it’d get so many notes! I mean, it was just of a restaurant I thought was cute. It was very awesome to get such positive support from everyone.

Q: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? Which one do you currently use the most often?

A: Hipstamatic, Picture Show, Cross Process, PS Mobile, CameraBag and Lo-Mob. As of late Picture Show has been my favorite. I’ll always love Hipstamatic though for starting it all!

(MaryAnn’s Village)

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?
A: I just want thank everyone for all their support. The positive encouragement I get from the Tumblr community is really fantastic. All the talent I see really pushes me to keep producing awesome iPhoneography (and photography, for that matter)!

For more on Bel check out these links:

Tumblr:laviebelem.tumblr.com

Tumblr: laviecine.tumblr.com

Thank you Bel for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Bel D., please contact Bel for copyright privileges.

© 2010 iPhoneogenic

Leave a Reply

