iPhoneographer of the Day – Ivan Kuek

Ivan loves taking photos with his iPhone as “it’s very compact, convenient, and creates endless possibilities.” Ivan’s approach to iPhoneography is introspective and thoughtful with a great deal of balance and movement. Like others Ivan has also started an iPhone Photography community page on Facebook for like-minded iPhoneographers to share their photos and techniques with each other.  

(Muffin)

Q: Tell me about yourself? Where are you from? Hobbies?
A:I worked in an integrated marketing agency and I am also a freelance photographer based in Singapore. I am married to my lovely wife, Sharon, with 3 beautiful kids, Julien, Dylan & Emma. As for hobbies, I guess its iPhoneography if you consider that a hobby.

Q:How did you get into iPhoneography?
A: I got my iPhone end of last year when my old phone died on me and like they say, the rest is history.

Q: Can you recall the first iphoto you took that made you go WOW I really got something here!?
A: It was a sunrise photo I took in Bali and I was amazed by the quality of that photo even without any editing.

(Bali Sunrise)

Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?
A: iPhoneography is a new movement whereby the iPhone revolutionizes the entire photography landscape. The iPhone has equipped ordinary people with a very powerful media tool. Powered with iPhone apps, it is amazing what you can do with an iphone.
For example, you can navigate to an ideal sunrise location, find out the sunrise timing, snap a photo, edit it, post it online in a matter of minutes and share that photo with the rest of the world.

Q: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?
A: Like most photographer, I am self taught and pick up a thing or two along the way. I guess it is a lifelong learning journey.

(Raindrops)

Q: Who or what are your artistic influences?
A: I am inspired by God’s amazing creation; the wonder of nature, the power of human potential and the fleeting moments in life. I am also inspired by photographers like Henri Cartier Bresson, Philippe Halsmen, Helmut Newton, James Nachtwey, Sebastiao Salgado as well as the many iPhoneographers whom i got to know recently; Chia Aik Beng, Jayson Ang, Dave Chua, Bernard Goh, Sherrina Chen, Justin See, Megat Ibrahim Mahfuz, Youka Ueda, Mariann Nikolaisen, Ramona Gillentine, Sion Fullana, Knox Bronson, Judy Green, Isabella Gagne, Dirk Dallas, Gara Gillentine, Michael Radney,Shannon Michelle Watts, Jaime Ferreyros, Philippe Boivin, Star Rush and many more (there’s just to little space to list all you guys).

     
Q: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?A: To put down my iPhone and stop taking photos and uploading them during meals, walking along the road, on the train or in the bathroom.

(Wedding)

Q: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?
A: Two of the most common reaction from people – “You mean that was taken with your iPhone?” & “So what lens did you use to take this photo?”

Q: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? Which one do you currently use the most often?
A: Some of my favourite apps are PictureShow, Format 123, Tilt Shift Generator, PS Mobile, Moremono, ShakeIt, Pudding Camera, BlendCam & SwankoLab. I finally succumbed and bought Hipstamatic today! That is one app that I have been contemplating to get for the longest of time as I prefer something that retains the original file so that I can edit it later with my apps.

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?
A: I think it will be exciting times ahead as the iPhone Camera gets better with more new and powerful photography apps! It is creating a phenomenon in the world as more and more people are recognising iPhoneography as an artform. Recently, a shot of a muffin taken with my iPhone was selected to be exhibited at a restaurant as part of The World Gourmet Summit Event. I was amazed by the print quality, even though it was enlarged to A2 with the help of interpolation software. On my part to promote iPhoneography, I have started a iPhone Photography Page on facebook so that we can continue to inspire each other with our iPhoneography.

For more on Ivan check out these links:

Facebook: iPhotography
Flicker:iPhonephotographer
Twitter:@iPhonatics

Thank you Ivan for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Ivan Kuek, please contact Ivan for copyright privileges.

© 2010 iPhoneogenic

Leave a Reply

