iPhoneographer of the Day – Robert Herold

In the time Robert Herold has been pursuing iPhoneography his work has steadily progressed.  Robert’s art is taking new turns from his earlier work with the help his camera bag containing well over 50 app to select from. Experimentation with these apps has led Robert to the perfect formula, knowing what combination works well together for what photo.  A perfect example of this creative process is his latest piece entitled “Birth.”

Let’s jump into it…

(Birth)

Q: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?

A: I am from Hungary. My hometown is Pécs, which is the European Capital of Culture in this year. I live with my wife, kids and Lilli, our Westie. I’m a big jazz fan! My favorites are Thelonious Monk, Miles Davis, Jeremy Pelt, Chris Potter. I also love the books of Julio Cortazar, Paul Auster, Umberto Eco.

Q: How did you get into iPhoneography?

A: This happened completely accidentally. I was deeply involved in photography before the digital era, but I gave it up due to lack of time and because of my job. I wasn’t inspired by digital photography at all, especially not by photoshopping. The iPhone’s camera was something poor for me, deserving only to document personal events. However, at the beginning of this year, I ran into a website suggesting a B&W application for iPhone. The results fascinated me. After that I found interesting sites demonstrating the potential of iPhoneography (e.g. Life in LoFi, iPhone Photography, Pixels At An Exhibition). Now I feel the same “analog” excitement when I take pictures with the iPhone.

Q: Can you recall the first iphoto you took that made you go WOW I really got something here!?

A: I experienced something similar when I made my first B&W photo with iPhone. This was about a church, and a modified version was posted later as “Exposed”. But generally I am quite ambivalent with my pictures, so the WOW feeling rarely comes. It is more common, that I feel something special right after the shot, and this excitement comes back during the processing.

(Exposed)

Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

A: Iphoneography means the rediscovery of photography for me. I am obsessively focused on time, and iPhoneography means a unique tool to capture time. As the iPhone is always with me, I can take photos whenever the moment comes. But the shooting is only the first (and important) phase. The process of treatment, which really amaze me. Processing is not only the improvement of the original shot, but a potential process of unfolding the inner essence of the moment.

Q: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?

A: Not really. Practically speaking I’m self-taught. However, when I started photography, the opportunities in Hungary were quite limited. I had to join a photo-club to obtain appropriate tools for photographic processing. I learned a lot in this club about the technical part of photography.

Q:What about your hometown is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?

A: I usually spend the year in a very limited area of my hometown, but this is a very exciting historic part of the city, which serves each day new discoveries.

(Being in a Bubble)

Q: Who or what are your artistic influences?

A: My absolute starting point is a Hungarian: Andre Kertesz. I think he was the genius of photography, who demonstrated Henri Cartier-Bresson’s “decisive moment” with his entire oeuvre. Once Cartier-Bresson said about him: “Whatever we have done, Kertész did first.” It might be odd, but my second source is the work of Thelonious Monk. His fragmented, repeating themes, his special disharmonical musical style is very influencing. Beside Kertesz and Monk my influences come from the art of the sixties. I adore the photographic style of the French “Nouvelle Vague” and Italian cinema (e.g. Antonioni, Fellini). And of course, I am deeply influenced by the iPhoneography movement. The pictures of Pixels At An Exhibition mean a constant motivation. I am also inspired by the Flickr community. People, who have the biggest impact on me are on my contact list. I didn’t want to go into details, but I have to mention my friend Jaime Ferreyros among them, whose comments are always guidelines for me, even if he comments on others’ pictures. At last, I am constantly influenced by my wife, who is also an iphoneographer!

Q: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

A: My greatest challenge is myself. I’m in constant battling with my analog photographic self as I can’t use various lenses, and I’m not able to adjust shutter speed and aperture! But I really enjoy the challenge caused by the iPhone’s simplicity, which means, that I have to be more involved in the process of taking photos.

(Discontinuity)

Q: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?

A: Of course I hoped to be noticed, but considering the short time I’m involved in iphoneography, it was a great surprise, that my pictures were found interesting, and two of my photos were selected for “Pic of  the day Award” by fotogriPhone. It was also a great honor, that some of my shots were posted  at the Pixels At An Exhibition, and two of my pictures were selected for MMS Gallery exhibition in Philadelphia in July 2010. 

(It was Easier)

Q: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? Which one do you currently use the most often?

A: My camera bag constantly changes, I have nearly 50 apps. I usually start the processing with Film Lab, Photo fx, Photogene, and PhotoForge. My basic tool is Photo fx. After the basic corrections and modifications I frequently finish the treatment with the use of PictureShow, Lo-Mob, Pic Grunger, CrossProcess, CameraBag, ShakeItPhoto, Plastic Bullet and TiltShiftGenerator in different variations.

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?

A: Firstly, I would like to thank you Edgar! I really appreciate it! I would also like to thank my friends on Flickr and Facebook for all of their support!

(Nightmare)

For more on Robert check out these links:

 
Flicker: http://www.flickr.com/photos/_herro/

Posterous: http://robertherold.posterous.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/heroldr

Thank you Robert for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Robert Herold, please contact Robert for copyright privileges.

© 2010 iPhoneogenic

Leave a Reply

