iPhoneographer of the Day – Jaime Ferreyros

Jaime Ferreyros is another iPhoneographer who’s work is constantly on display whether it be in gallery exhibitions such the Pixels showcase or accolades among the web community.  Jamie’s words of encouragement to other iPhoneographers also champions him as a great motivator.

Now the interview with Jaime…

(Enjoyment)

Q: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?

A: I was born in Lima, Peru and have been living in Miami for the past 18 years. Growing up, I had the opportunity to live in cities like NYC, San Francisco, and other countries around the world. I am a writer, director and television producer, and have just finished launching and producing the 2010 World Cup campaign for the Univision Network. I love to cook and try as many ethnic and strange foods as I can find and I’m passionate about soccer, foreign films, and reading non-fiction, poetry and autobiographies. I also enjoy writing prose and have a blog with my writings and B&W photos.

Q: How did you get into iPhoneography?

A: Last year my wife gave me a 3GS for Father’s day. I think it’s the best present she’s given me in our 26 years of marriage. At first, I really didn’t pay much attention to the camera and to what one can do with all those apps. Then, I started to see these real cool pictures that a producer friend of mine Alfredo Bergna was taking. He shot what looked to be high-speed shots, that were actually an effect achieved using CameraBag and FocalLab. When he told me his secret, I was hooked!

Q: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW, I really got something here!? 

A: I live right by the beach and love to spend as much time as possible there. It’s no surprise that the first shot I actually began to edit was one I took at our beach in Key Biscayne ( “Sunbrella”). I had never played around with Photoshop before, even though my daughters are graphic artists who use it all day in the house. So when I began to process my first pictures on my iphone,I was blown away with the final result and excited about the creative possibilities that awaited.

(Sunbrella)

Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

A: iPhoneography has become my favorite means of expression. It’s the perfect tool that allows me to tell my story and the stories of others, right in the palm of my hand.

Q: Do you have any formal training regarding traditional photography?

A: I went to art school in New York City, specifically, I went to the School of Visual Arts. My major was Media Communications, with a strong emphasis in Advertising and Graphic design. My favorite electives where Photography and Theatre Directing classes. They dropped my theatre class only a year after The school opened for the first time, so I kept taking as many photo classes as I could. I built quite a strong B&W portfolio, thanks to Cora Kennedy, a great teacher and an established professional who wrote articles for a popular photography magazine.

(Café y Cigarros)

Q: What about your hometown is so special that it makes you want to capture it through your iPhone?

A: The colors and textures, the architecture, the different cultures, the bulbous clouds and blue skies. Miami’s beaches are unique and one of a kind. The laid back life-style here makes you really appreciate your surroundings. I understand every city has it’s own and unique qualities but everything I love is here; well…. almost…because the best food and my favorite Soccer team, La “U”, are back home in Peru!

Q: Who or what are your artistic influences?

A: As far as photographers, I’m a huge fan of Eugene Atget and Andre Kertesz. I have always loved the Dadaist movement and artists including Deschamps, Man Ray, Dali, Picasso, and De Kooning, Pollock. I am also inspired by film directors like Kurosawa, Fellini, Burton, Polanski, Coppola, Herzog, Lucas, Woody Allen; and writers and poets like Truman Capote, Samuel Beckett and Charles Bukowski. I am sure I’m leaving out many others who inspire me, including my talented iphoneographer friends who are listed on my flickr contact list.

(On The Road)

Q: What’s in your iPhone Camera Bag? What app(s) do you currently use the most often?

A: I have more than 60 apps on my iPhone. Right now, I’m really getting into Camera+, Plastic Bullet, Pic Grunger, Iris, and PictureShow, along with my Favorites: FocalLab, Hipstamatic, TiltShiftGen, ShakeItPhoto amongst others.

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share? 

A: I would like to thank you Edgar, for giving me the opportunity to share a bit of my world with your readers. I’d also like to thank my iPhoneography friends for inspiring me with their amazing work and their constant support.

(She Never Said Goodbye)

For more on Jamie check out these links:

Flickr: Jaimeography

Blog:  JaimeFerreyros

Thank you Jaime for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Jaime Ferreyros, please contact Jaime for copyright privileges.

© 2010 iPhoneogenic

Leave a Reply

