iPhoneographer of the Day – Ed Araquel

iPhoneogenic’s interview with Ed Araquel…

Q: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?

A: I’m currently located in Vancouver but was born in the Philippines. I’ve lived in several places in US and Canada and you can usually find me tinkering with my iPad and iPhone

Q: How did you get into iPhoneography?

A: I bought an iPhone :)

Q: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW I really got something here!?

A: I saw the CameraBag app mentioned on a website so I downloaded it and tried it and thought it was fun…so then I started downloading more photo apps like TiltShiftGen to see what they could do as well. This is one of the first photos I remember doing with TiltShiftGen which is dated Sept 7, 2009…about a month after I bought the iPhone 3GS

Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

A: iPhoneography means (at least to me) using only the iPhone to take and manipulate photos and uploading them straight to your website/blog/flickr without the use of a computer at all in the process.

Q: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?

A: Nope not really. I took a fashion photography course once but when they looked at my portfolio they said I didn’t need to take the course. I took it anyway since I had never taken a photo course before.

Q:What about your hometown is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?

A: Vancouver has the unique quality of you being able to go skiing in the mountains and sailing in the ocean all in the same day. A wide variety of terrain and vegetation are all easily accessible here. I live right by the beach which is difficult to do in most places without costing an arm and a leg. :)

Q: Who or what are your artistic influences?

A: My influences are too numerous to list but my first intro to photography was through Sante D’Orazio’s book, A Private View. Here was this guy hanging out with supermodels (in fact, I think he even married one, Christy Turlington) and I thought, “How cool is that?”

Q: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

A: I sometimes wish it had manual exposure and a wider angle of view or optical zoom but that’s part of the charm of it: you’re forced into these restrictions that make you think, “How can I get around this limitation and still achieve what I want?”

Q: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?

A: No, I’ve only put my iPhoneography on the web. I’ve never expected it to be noticed but I’m certainly glad if it has been…

Q: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?

A: Always it’s “That was shot on your iPhone??”

Q: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? Which one do you currently use the most often?

A: Currently I use Pictureshow alot but I also have Photogene, PS Express, Lo-Mob, CameraBag, TiltShiftGen, QuadCam, Gorillacam, SwankoLab and Diptic

Q: One of my favorite photos of yours is “”The Sirens.” Do you mind telling us how this was created from start to finish?

A: Actually it was pretty simple… 

STEP 1       This is the original, unedited JPEG straight off the camera. Three women just happened to walk out onto this giant stump that was lying in the water that I wanted to take a silhouette picture of. But instead of waiting for them to leave, I thought they added something to the photo that I was thinking of so I snapped the pic with the default Camera app in the iPhone 4.

STEP 2       Next, I open the photo in the Pictureshow app. I wanted to make it look more like sunset (even though it was some 3 hours before sunset) so I knew I wanted a reddish filter. Pictureshow’s RedFilm filter to the rescue! Add a white border, some scratches, and a little light leak (all within Pictureshow) and voila!

I don’t usually do too much post processing…the above took like less than a minute but like I said, I just make pictures that please me and I don’t spend too much time fussing over them…that’s part of the fun. :)

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?

A: My only other thought with regards to making pictures is that your photos should please yourself first; don’t worry what others think…just make the photos that you want to make.

For more on Ed Araquel check out these links:

Tumblr: iphone.edaraquel.com
Twitter: edaraquel
Blog:blog.edaraquel.com
Other: edaraquel.com

Thank you Ed for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Ed Araquel, please contact Ed for copyright privileges.

© 2010 iPhoneogenic

Leave a Reply

