iPhoneographer of the Day – Laszlo Lim

iPhonoegenic’s interview with Laszlo Lim…


(IMG_4482)

iPhoneogenic: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?
Laszlo Lim: I was born and raised in Manila, (Philippines) and pretty much have lived here my whole life. I currently work for a digital agency focusing on strategies for sales and marketing. And I love music.My interest in photography started when I was in College, but I never really did anything about it. After I was able to save enough money, I bought my first DSLR in 2003. Ever since then, I’ve been bitten by the shutterbug. I also started experimenting with toy cameras like the plastic Holgas and refurbished Lomo LC-A+.

iP: How did you get into iPhoneography?
LL: Since I’ve been in love with photography for some time now, it just followed that I would be using my iPhone as a camera. It’s portable and pretty much goes everywhere I go. So whenever I find inspiration in the things around me, I reach into my pocket and simply snap away. I don’t do it (photography) as a profession — it’s really more of a passion.

(The Story Behind)

iP: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW I really got something here!?
LL: There was no singular photo that comes to mind when I think of my first “jaw-dropping” iPhone photo. Each picture captured has meaning to me — or at least it did during the time I took it. going through my archives of photos, I see some now that I don’t really like anymore, and others that I appreciate more than I probably did back when I took it.

iP: What does iPhoneography mean to you?
LL: iPhoneography is pure fun. It’s a creative way to take a look at the surroundings and put your own personal stamp into the way you see things. It may be through your choice of iPhone app, your perspective, timing and so many other factors. But having such a neat and portable device makes it so much easier to record these brief moments of inspiration — whether on a whim or for more practical reasons.

(The Schism Between Us)

iP: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?
LL: I’ve never taken a lesson on photography. Even when I just started getting interested in photography, i just started reading up on whatever I could get my hands on. I also looked at some work from others and just did the most sensible thing — I started shooting.

iP: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?
LL: This is my first time to get notice, hence the excitement. iPhoneography is really a personal passion, so recognition was never a driving force. Of course, it’s great to hear praises and receive wonderful comments from peers, but self-fulfillment is the real reason behind all of my work. Having said that though, thanks for noticing my work.

(IMG_4459)

iP: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? Which one do you currently use the most often?
LL: Right now, I have a long list of iPhone Camera Apps… Camera Bag, Hipstamatic, Swankolab, Molopix, Quadcamera, Polarize, iFlashReady and Tilt-Shift Generator to name a few. But at this point in time, I use Hipstamatic, for the experimental feel of the photos and Tilt-Shift Generator for the dreamy, ethereal effects the most.

iP: What other thoughts would you like to share?
LL: Thanks for taking time out to view my photos. It always is a pleasure finding people that share the same passion. Good luck with your project and I hope to see more beautiful photos!

(Vision)

For more on Laszlo check out these links:

Tumblr: mcshutterlovin.tumblr.com
Flicker: flickr.com/laszlolim
Twitter: McShutterLovin
Other: www.laszlolim.com

Thank you Laszlo for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Laszlo Lim, please contact Laszlo for copyright privileges.

© 2010 iPhoneogenic

Leave a Reply

