iPhoneographer of the Day – Andrea Kis | MissAKiss

Andrea Kis is an iPhonoegrapher living in London where beauty lies all around. Andi captures beauty ranging from gardens and sea life in aquariums to landmarks of London.  The minimal “apping” in her photos really gives life to her work allowing the photos to be viewed as they were intended to be.

Let’s get a closer look at who Andi is…

(Waterlily Leaf, Kew Gradens, London)

Edgar C.: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?
AK: I’m Hungarian, currently living in London but who knows what is going to be my next destination. The possibilities are endless.

I am an extremely curious person so my hobbies are pretty endless but I love history, reading (books are my lifetime addiction), photography of course, arts, street arts and urban discovery. I just love visiting new places and making my own urban discoveries :)

EC: How did you get into iPhoneography?
Ak: I always enjoyed snapping random photos with all my previous mobiles phones too (Used to own Nokias) but what I enjoy most about the iPhone are the amazing photo effect apps. I always wanted to own a fisheye camera, or carry around several toycameras and now all of these are in my pocket on my phone for me to play with them as I like whenever I like.

(Tulip Stairs, Greenwich)

 EC: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW, I really got something here!?
AK: Interesting question, I really can’t remember what was the first one I’ve took with my iPhone. I think it has just happened. I do remember which was my first camera app I’ve bought: Camerabag

EC: What does iPhoneography mean to you?
AK: It entertains me. Even when I have my DSRL with me, I still take photos with my iPhone too. I enjoy sharing the little snippets of how I see the world from my angle.

(Crystal horse) 

 EC: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?
AK: The lack of flash can be really irritating sometimes, so I am looking forward to finally get the iPhone 4. Otherwise I don’t really mind the quality; after all it is a simple 2mp mobile phone camera. I just make the best of it.

EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?
AK: No, it hasn’t been published before. When people reblog some of my photos on Tumblr or like them, it is a heartwarming feedback for me already.

(Main court, British Museum)

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?
AK: I think the most surprising reaction was when people don’t believe it that all my photos were taken with my iPhone only.

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? Which one do you currently use the most often?
AK: I use Cameratan, TiltShift Generator, Camerabag, Autostitch, Lo-Mob, Hipstamatic. I use Cameratan, TiltShiftGen and Autostitch most. I love how amazing panorama photos you can create with it.

(Green Park, London)

 EC: Andi would you mind sharing with our reader a workflow of an image you really enjoyed processing.
AK: Sure.
Step 1.
I wanted to take a photo of the Houses of Parliament on one of the mornings on my way to work. First I took separate multiple vertical shots with the iPhone.

Step 2:
Then I stitched them together using the app Autostitch.
This was the end result. It was pretty but I thought it is a boring photo.

Step 3:
So I opened the photo in Cameratan and applied the effect called ToyStorm 1.
I was pleased with the end result. Reminded me of an old postcard.

For more on Andi check out these links:

Tumblr: missakiss-iPhonography
Twitter: @KisAndie

Thank you Andi for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Andrea Kis, please contact Andrea for copyright privileges.

(Symmetry)

©2010 iPhoneogenic

Leave a Reply

