iPhoneographer of the Day – Mattia Boero

A talented Italian iPhoneographer capturing “daily visuals” re-framed through his phone.

iPhoneogenic’s interview with Mattia Boero….

(Little Red Chair)

Edgar C: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?
Mattia Boero: I’m from Italy, I was born in Turin where I live with my wife (strict judge with great passion of my pictures) and where I have my studio. I’m a professional photographer of architecture (interior and exterior), urban landscape and event reportage. Lately, together with my work, I spend time and resources to develop an artistic research always within photography, from this point on starts my interest towards iPhoneography. I also have an acoustic guitar, I wish I could play it well but unfortunately I “abuse” it as an anti-stresser.

EC: How did you get into iPhoneography?
MB: As I said before, I love living with photography, constantly shooting…
I have a small compact camera that I used to bring always with me. I used it as a virtual notepad in order to have a preview of the final shoot. I realized that my pockets where already filled with my wallet, my keys, my iPhone…too many things! This is the reason why I left behind my compact camera and started using the iPhone. At first, I took many pictures around with no post-production, just using the basic camera app, than I discovered that the App Store offers tons of fantastic photo apps that I personally appreciate. At the same, while surfing around internet, I found many websites about iPhoneography (the ones that I check daily are Pixels, iPhoneography.com, EYE’EM, and iPhoneogenic – ops, this is yours! Plus many other blogs on tumblr, posterous, etc.)

EC: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW, I really got something here!?
MB: The first one? Mmmmmm I think that everything began during my honeymoon from Seattle to San Francisco. American urban landscape fascinated me; skyscrapers, people, food, sidewalks…everything. Once in San Francisco I took a picture at a piece of sidewalk with a newspaper on the ground, I showed it to Elena (my wife) and she just said: ”wow!”. From that moment on my never ending project started. My goal is, and hopefully will be, to take one picture a day, Daily Visual Uploads (my tumblr photo blog).

(Sidewalk in San Francisco)

EC: What does iPhoneography mean to you?
MB: To me iPhonegraphy means a new possibility to shoot everything, anywhere, anytime and having fun creating a final picture the more similar to the one that I have in my mind in that moment.

EC: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?
MB: I live with photography since I was 17-18. My father used to have a Pentax MX with some lenses that he didn’t use any more. I just borrowed it and started taking pictures around making any kind of mistakes. With time I improved my photographic skill, I attended some workshops while I was studying Architecture and I ended up using it to transform my hobby into my current work. Afterwords, I tried to develop other hobbies and I found iPhoneography…crazy isn’t it?

(The leftover of the Overpass in Turin)

EC:What about your hometown is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?
MB: I don’t have a particular place that I feel “mine”. I like the city in which I live. From here my wish to just take pictures, take pictures, take pictures:any corner, detail, shadow that surrounds me (I just came back from a 2 week vacation in France and I took 200 pictures just with my iPhone!).

EC: Who or what are your artistic influences?
MB: The photographers that influenced me the most are: Walker Evans, Stephen Shore, Luigi Ghirri, Eugene Atget Ansel Adams, Gabriele Basilico, Bernd & Hilla Becher e Fulvio Bortolozzo (a photographer based in Turin that held some workshops that I attended – http://www.bortolozzo.net).

(Poland bus stop)

EC: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?
MB: Personally, my biggest challenge is to keep on taking pictures, trying to look for new technological and software solutions that iPhone can offer. In the near future I also have in mind to publish a book by myself…maybe we can talk about it in a few months, ok? Generally speaking I hope the iPhoneography community increases always more allowing the iPhoneographer, with his work, to reach more “artistic” consideration.

EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?
MB: Your interview is my first iPhoneographic publication. I hope to have other chances like the one you gave me.

(Reddish Fork)

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?
MB: But you really did it with your cell phone? I don’t believe it…

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag? Which one do you currently use the most often?
MB: Fortunately Apple has realized the “folders” so that I can keep my iPhone neat with all the applications on board. Checking my iPhone just now, I have installed the following apps: ThiltShiftGen, FocalLab, Photogene, PerfetlyClr, PicGrunger, Mill Colour, ColoroSplash, MonotoriCam, Xprocess, ShakeItPhoto, PictureShow, Hipstamatic, CameraBag, SwankoLab, Lo-Mob, Film Lab, My Film, Panoramatic, Monotone, Moremono, Camera+ e ColorSplash. The ones I use the most are ThiltShiftGen, Camera+, ShakeItPhoto and PerfetlyClear.

(Sand Dune)

EC: One of my favorite photos of your is “iPhonemade Polaroid #2 – Books” Do you mind telling our readers how this was created from start to finish?
MB: Of the picture you chose, I only have the final result and not the intermediate shoots. In any case I will explain you step-by-step how I realized it.

STEP 1 I took an old polaroid and I cut it in order to have just the frame.

STEP 2 Then with the basic iPhone camera I take a picture focusing only the scene within the frame of the old Polaroid.

STEP 3 At this point I import the picture just took in PerfectlyClear to improve the global look.

STEP 4 I saved the picture I just improved and I import it in ColorSplash transforming everything except my hand, the frame, and everything within the frame to black and white. Done, the picture is ready to be saved in my iPhone!

EC: What other thoughts would you like to share?
MB: For sure I want to thank you Edgar for this interview, the iPhoneography community, my wife, and all my friends that have always appreciated my works.

For more on Mattia check out these links:

Tumblr: mattiaboero
Twitter: @mattiaboero
Other: mattiaboero.net

Thank you Mattia for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

Thank You!

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Mattia Boero, please contact Mattia for copyright privileges.

Leave a Reply

