iPhoneographer of the Day – Stephanie Chappe

The Street iPhoneography game is synonymous with names like Sion Fullana, Greg Scmigel, and iPhoneography London. Stephanie Chappe’s street work is top notch much like these fellows.  She shoots frontals without hesitation of being seen by the subject, while keeping “back” shots to a minimal.  Stephinie has quickly become one of my favorite street iPhoneographers.

iPhoneogenic one on one with Stephie’sEye…

Edgar C: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?

Stephanie Chappe: I am from Buffalo Grove, a Northwest suburb of Chicago, IL.  I lived in the city of Chicago for several years before leaving for Boston, MA to pursue a degree in Educational Research. In general, I like to create projects for myself, so beyond my current 365 photography project (where I take at least one photograph each day), I have also been experimenting with watercolor and pen and ink drawings. I have no formal art class experience beyond photography, so I am kind of making it up as I go…at least for now.  Luckily, my sister Alyssa is a master at watercolors, so I call her all the time to get her opinions and suggestions.

EC: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

SC: iPhoneography has expanded my understanding of what photography can be and has challenged it, too.  The three words that pop out in my mind when I think of iPhoneography is: spontaneity, the apps, and community.  That is, the spontaneity in when I take shots and when I want to edit them; the iPhone app or combination of apps that I can be use to edit a photograph; and the ability and accessibility to easily share and communicate with other iPhoneographers.  I think back to my photography classes, I would spend a day or so taking pictures, a day or more developing film and printing the photos (or, editing them via computer), and then scan them into my computer or literally show people the print to share them.  The iPhone has changed this process for me.  The order of the process is not necessarily the same, and the steps can influence each other in new, interesting ways. For instance, I can take a photo, edit it right then, and re-take it if I want to get a certain kind of effect based upon the ideas I generated when
editing it.

(Reading)

EC: Do you have any formal training regarding photography?

SC: I started taking photography classes around my sophomore year of high school, and continued to take them throughout my undergraduate studies, as well (I actually ended up with a minor in photography).

EC:What about your hometown is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?

SC: I love people and candid moments.  I think there is a genuineness that is so beautiful in a candid moment and can be something telling about humanity and/or relatable on a personal level.  Boston, the city in which I take candid pictures in, is not my hometown.  However, taking pictures of the people in Boston has given me the opportunity to see and notice the people of this city on a different, more personal level.  One of my photography teachers once told our class that he really disliked the billboards on the side of the highways, so he decided to create a photography project around them.  He said that after taking pictures of them, he came to not dislike them and saw them as art.  Photographing the billboards has changed the way he saw the billboards. I have always liked the people of Boston, but my point is, taking pictures of the people of Boston makes me feel more apart of the city than before and makes me feel more like it is my current hometown in a way, rather than just a student living here, which is pretty cool.

(Portrait)

EC: Who or what are your artistic influences?

SC: Henri Cartier-Bresson has always been a major influence to me. Also, especially with the current mobile phone movement, I am even more influenced by the passion Alfred Stiglitz had early on who, from what I remember learning, helped push photography to be appreciated as an art form at the turn of the century.  I am also influenced by the phone photography currently produced my many iPhoneographers; the various styles and techniques never cease to amaze and inspire me. Also, my sister Alyssa has been a recent artistic influence.  She has a quirky and ironic sense of style that shows itself in her paintings and photography; to see the world like she conceptualizes it is refreshing and new to me.

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?

SC: My iPhone photography style tends to be similar to what it is with my film camera, and so I think some people are surprised that some of my photographs were taken on my iPhone.

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag? Which one do you currently use the most often?

SC: My favorite app is Photogene.  I use it for just about all of my photographs.  Other than that, I use Tiltshiftgen a lot, mostly for my black and white photos, as well as Pictureshow and Photo FX for color and to achieve certain effects, respectively.

EC: One of my favorite photos of your is “Riverfest.” Do you mind telling us how this was created from start to finish?

SC:  Sure! This photo did not require so much editing, but I do have the before and after photo and will delineate how I created it.

STEP 1:  I took this photo using the hipstamatic app.  Below is the unedited photo.

STEP 2:  Like the majority of my photos, I edited it using the Photogene app.  I cropped it so that the edges were not dusty/faded, and I desaturated the color.  While I do not have a picture of the step in-between, I then adjusted the levels in the Photogene app so that the contrast and light was as I desired.  To do this, I usually click the ‘auto’ button, and then I adjusted it myself to my liking from there.

(Riverfest)

EC: Any other thoughts you would like to share?
SC: Thanks so much for deciding to feature me on your blog :)  I enjoyed answering your questions!

Thank you Stephanie for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic.tumblr.com and the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page. I am honored to have you on my blog.

For more on Stephanie check out these links:

Tumblr:  stephieseye
Flicker:  stephieseye
Twitter: @stephieseye

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Stephanie Chappe, please contact Stephanie for copyright privileges.

Leave a Reply

