iPhoneographer of the Day – Michael Baranovic | Misho

The work of Misho Baranovic is pure brilliance. Moments is time captured forever in such style that rivals any iPhoneographer out there.  Following Misho’s work has been a privilege to see and the growth is evident in each subsequent photo posted on his various accounts. Also be sure to check out Misho’s video interview over at EYE’EM

Here he is in plain text…

(Photo Booth, Flinders St Station)

Q: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?
A: I am from a few places. I was born in Slovakia, moved to Adelaide, Australia when I was very small, was a teenager in Brisbane and have now moved to Melbourne.

I am a social scientist working for a large engineering consultancy. I spend my days researching and writing reports, going to meetings and chatting to different communities around town. I’m also involved in volunteer work for Diaspora Lanka, a charity working to restore connections between local and international Sri Lankan communities.

Q: How did you get into iPhoneography?
A: iPhoneography crept up on me. I dismissed the camera when I first got the iPhone but started snapping a few images late last year. The road trip down to Melbourne in February this year was the first time I embraced iPhoneography, using the ‘Shake It’ app to over-saturate the Australian summer. From there, it was a quick descent into addiction.

Q: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW, I really got something here!?
A: The first photo that made me genuinely excited was taken on the aforementioned roadtrip down the east coast. The image was shot at about 6:30am on the main beach in Yamba. The overnight waves had frothed the sea into foam, some of which was clinging to the rocks around the pool. I stalked the figures as they walked to the pool and was lucky they had a brief chat before jumping in. The photo was processed with ‘Shake It’ and the border cut off in Photoshop.

photo

( Yamba, New South Wales)

Q: What does iPhoneography mean to you?
A: Hmm, loaded question. I realise there is a big debate going on in the iPhoneography world about purity of process. This does not interest me. I love the iPhone as a camera because it is simple and reflexive. I love it because I can focus on the moment and not be distracted by equipment. I no longer have lens, pixel or bag envy…what a relief. So let’s not fight about technical semantics, but enjoy the photographs.

Q: Do you have any formal training regarding traditional photography?
A: No formal training except for a 6 week lighting course that showed me the best way to light vases and chairs. I have been a professional photographer, I have done weddings (even burnt ‘memories on a cd’). I have shot greasy hamburgers. I have shot greasy male models. I have gotten angry over the colour of fish for a food shoot and have asked strangers to look happy for small town promotions. I have even take photos of eight sets of perfect teeth for a millionaire dentist. I try not to do corporate
work anymore. I prefer to take photos on my own time, in my own way.

(Lonsdale St, Melboune)

Q: Who or what are your artistic influences?
A: My artistic influences are primarily drawn from street photography. I like Josef Koudelka’s stubborn protest, Robert Doisneau lyrical puppetry, Robert Frank’s brutal Americana, Nan Goldin’s naked NY embrace and Helen Levitt’s hand coloured summer. Of more recent photographers, Trent Parke continues to make me question why I even bother. Please look up his Minutes to Midnight video on the Magnum site.

I am also influenced, challenged and pushed by the awesomeness of my iPhoneography peers. Time for a few shout outs – Sion, your work rocks, you are awesome, thank you for saying too many kind things. Greg, your street work is pure and unadulterated, don’t stop Dom, can’t wait to work with you in the future, your experimentation is always inspiring Gusbano, you were so nice to me from right from the first few days on Flickr, thank you inviting me to BWMuse, thank you for your support. Your BW vision and process is unsurpassed. Benedict, I’m so glad I can share in your lyrical Parisian life.
Yves, I am constantly in awe of the beauty you capture in everyday life. Star, your comments are always thoughtful, your work even more so. Stephanie, your work makes me jealous! Oliver, a fellow Aussie, your work is improving rapidly, hope we can catch up one of these days. Sasha, your clean lines and structured scenes are always a pleasure.

(Footscray, Melbourne)

Q:What about your hometown is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?
A: I will direct this question at Melbourne, my new home town. I’m not sure what to say really, I enjoy shooting different parts of the city. Exploring the way a place interacts with its occupants, whether it is a tired street in an old ethnic suburb or glossy new thoroughfare in the city.

Q: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?
A: Um, it gets a bit greasy from overuse and have almost dropped it on more than one occasion. My only minor grievances are maxing out the memory, not having an exposure lock and the cruel, cruel battery. I’ve managed to work around most of the other limitations.

(Brunswick East, Melbourne)

Q: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?
A: Yes, it has been published. I have had the tremendous pleasure of being exhibited at the Pixels at an Exhibition show in Oakland, California, the EYE’EM Berlin Show and a video interview with EYE’EM as well, and in a print journal called And Now it’s in Print.

Q: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?
A: Most surprising.

Friend: Such great images, you should exhibit them.
Me: Thanks, they’re taken on my iPhone.
Friend: Oh, that’s a shame.

(North Melbourne Station)

Q: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? What app(s) do you currently use the most often?
A: I have a pretty simple process. I edit in Photofx (it is awesome) and sharpen/contrast in Perfectly Clear. I upload with the Flickr and Tumblr apps. I also use Swankolab and Cross Process on occasion.

Q: One of my favorite photos of yours is ” Elizabeth St, Melbourne” Do you mind telling us how this was created from start to finish?
A: Elizabeth St, Melbourne is one of my favourite recent images. It was also
exhibited as part of the recent EYE’EM New York show.

While I usually adjust an image reflexively, I will try and recall what I did for this one.

First let’s start with the original image as taken with the standard iPhone camera app (Yves you finally get to see it in colour!)

The first step in the editing process was to open up Photo fx and crop the image. In my mind the action was just a touch too far away and a slight crop would bring the blurred night scene into better view.

I liked the image straight out of the camera but could not resist turning it into a BW, it was a close call though. To make the conversion I selected the Black and White filter in the Image tab within Photo fx. I always look closely at the six different colour filters to see which one retains the most detail and suits the mood of the scene. In this case, the Green filter was the best.

The next step was to increase the contrast and accentuate the night time drama. For this I went through all the Colour and BW filters under the Special FX tab in Photo fx. After a bit of tweaking I settled on one (not that I now remember which one exactly). Either way, you can see below that different filters, at different opacities, produce similar results. Just play with settings until you are happy with the look.

The final step in all my iPhoneography processing is to open the image in Perfectly Clear. I realize that I’m one of the few that does this as the final not the first step. But I like how it works on an already processed BW image.

The settings below are a rough indication of how I use the sliders. Again this varies greatly between images. I must say that I have been cranking up the sharpening since the update came out for Perfectly Clear.

The end result is this beauty

(Elizabeth St, Melbourne)

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?
A: Thank you Edgar for featuring me on IPho, very honoured. Thanks also to the crew from EYE’EM, Knox at Pixels, Greg at Just What I See and all the iPhoneographers for making this such a dynamic and rapidly evolving community.

Thank you Misho for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page, and on Twitter @iPhone0genic. I am honored to have you on my blog.

For more on Misho check out these links:

Tumblr: mishobaranovic
Flicker: mishobaranovic
Twitter: @mishobaranovic

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Michael Baranovic, please contact Misho for copyright privileges.

Leave a Reply

