iPhoneographer of the Day – Edina Herold

Edina Herold is the wife of a past iPhoneogenic feature, iPhoneographer Robert Herold. Like Robert, Edina’s passion for iPhoneography is evident in her work.  Mrs. Herold takes no backseat to her husband’s work, she a wonderful and talented iPhoneographer in her own right.  I am pleased to bring you the “better half” (that’s couples talk) of the wife and husband tandom.

Without further ado, Edina Herold….


(Lost Eden)

Edgar C: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?
Edina Herold: I live in Pécs, which is a beautiful city in Hungary. I live with my iPhoneographer husband Robert, kids, and a dog. My hobby is painting, but I spend a lot of time with investigating weather forecasting, and I love to cook and bake!

EC: How did you get into iPhoneography?
EH: I got my iphone for Christmas from my husband. I used the camera from the beginning but in another way as I use now. I usually documented the weather changes, took photos of clouds and family gatherings. I was very happy with my new camera, and our old digital cam remained on the shelf. This year’s spring I found my husband getting obsessed with iphoneography, and I was curios what it can be about. I  also got infected in a few weeks. At the beginning I did it for myself, but Robert persuaded me to post it on Flickr. I was amazed with the iphoneographs, that I saw on Flickr. From that time I’ve been following the work of fellow iphoneographers, which is very inspiring.

EC: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW, I really got something here!?
EH: Yes, of course! This shot was about my girl, Fanni! She blew soap bubbles. I played  a bit with tiltshift and pictureshow, and I was blown away with the result!

(Bubbles)
EC: What does iPhoneography mean to you?
EH: Iphoneography means my third eye which is always opened! I have an another eye which makes me see the world in an other way. I observe things, that I passed along or ignored earlier. Iphoneography gives me a new form of self expression.

EC: Do you have any formal training regarding traditional photography?
EH: No, I haven’t got any formal training in photography. But I always loved to take photos. Now I learn a lot from the iphoneographs of others.

EC:What about Pécs is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?
EH: I live in a special city, which is very rich in cultural traditions, but I think my iPhoneography is only tangentially connected to the city. Rather, it roots in moments that are interesting, or unusual for me.

(Country life)
EC: Who or what are your artistic influences?
EH: My main influences don’t come from photography, although I love the work of Andre Kertesz, Robert Capa, or Henri Cartier-Bresson. I was always involved in the question of the meaning of the life, so my main influences come from literature. I see life in a quite ironic way, so for example the point of view of Vonnegut is very close to me, but I also love the lyrics of hungarian alternative rock.  And of course I was influenced by fellow iphoneographers, like Jaime Ferreyros, Jose Chavarry, Mauro Ballabeni, of course my husband, and all of my contacts on Flickr.

EC: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?
EH: My main challenges with iPhone camera are to make good candids, as I have to go too close. :)

(Birds)
EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community? 
EH: I would never thought that I became recognized by the iPhoneography community. It was a great surprise, that some of my shots were posted on Pixels at an Exhibition, and three of my pictures were chosen as a Daily Pic. It was a great honor, that I was the featured artist of Pixels in September with my husband. I was very glad that my “Lost Eden” was exhibited on Pixels’ Apple event in San Francisco, and some of my pictures appeared in Daniel Berman’s marvelous “The Future Is Now” video. It was also a great honor, that two of my pictures were selected for “Pic of  the day Award” by fotogriPhone. Recently my “Birds” was selected for the live slideshow of Eyephoneography exhibition in Madrid.

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?
EH: People around me are usually surprised that these pictures were made only by a phone. Some of them still can not believe it.
(Parking)
EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag? What app(s) do you currently use the most often?
EH: I have a lot of apps, but usually I use photofx, iris, picureshow, and picgrunger. I love experimenting with different applications. I love postprocessing.

EC: What other thoughts would you like to share?
EH: Thank you Edgar for the opportunity to be featured here at iphoneogenic! It is a great honor for me!

(Strawberry Girl)

Thank you Edina for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page, and on Twitter @iPhone0genic. I am honored to have you on my blog.

For more on Edina check out these links:

Flicker: edinaherold Posterous: edinaherold

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Edina Herold, please contact Edina for copyright privileges.

Leave a Reply

