iPhoneographer of the Day – Jennifer Ford | gardenymph

A wife, a mother, an iPhoneographer. Jennifer, like many of us, uses her iPhone to capture moments in her life and that are truly special. 

Jeniffer in her own words…


(Goggles)

EC: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself? Any hobbies?

JF: I was born and raised in the southeastern United Sates. I currently live with my husband and three children in Tennessee. I am a ceramicist and a photographer.

EC: How did you get into iPhoneography?

JF: My husband gave me an iPhone 3G for Christmas in 2008. A few months later I began using editing software available to iPhone users and a whole new world opened up to me. I am a ceramicist by trade, but since having three children, I have not been able to spend long hours in the studio. I quickly discovered that taking and editing photos on my iPhone allowed me to express myself creatively throughout my day while caring for my children. I love being able to document everyday moments, whether it’s a sweet moment between my kids, or just the way the play of light, shadow, and color captures my imagination. I have recently upgraded to the iPhone 4.

EC: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW, I really got something here!?(be sure to include the photo if you answer this)

JF: Yes. I was just starting to discover editing software, and Camera Bag was the first photo editing app that I downloaded. I took this picture before I learned to adjust the resolution settings, but the way that I was able to capture the mood that I was in, and somehow make a finished product in a matter of seconds, well, I was hooked from then on out.


(Towel Head)

EC: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

JF: It means being able to have a creative outlet literally at the tip of my fingers at all times. It means being able to capture my world, my thoughts and feelings, and moments with my family that I might not otherwise be able to find the time to do via other art forms. It has given a “voice” to the observer in me.
 

EC: Do you have any formal training regarding traditional photography?

JF: I have always had a love of photography. As an undergraduate I studied both photography and ceramics. I also enjoy shooting film with toy and vintage cameras that I find. 
 

(first leaf of fall)

EC: Who or what are your artistic influences?

JF: I am inspired by anyone who has a passion for what they do, and having graduated with a BFA has given me exposure to many art forms that I find inspirational and can draw from. If we are talking about traditional photography, the first photographers that I remember capturing my heart and mind were Julia Margaret Cameron and Francesca Woodman. I am also inspired by the work of Cindy Sherman, Ann Hamilton, and Kiki Smith. I am very fortunate to have several friends who are talented artists (my husband included!) and they provide endless amounts of inspiration for me. As far as iPhoneography goes, I am constantly inspired by what I see my fellow iPhoneographers producing through such communities as Flickr, Pixels at an Exhibition, and EYE’EM, to name a few.

EC: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

JF:  There are very few technical challenges, and any limitations of using a mobile phone for a camera only serve to add to the charm of the finished product. The challenges that I tend to deal with are people’s acceptance of cell phone photography as a valid form of expression.


(After the Rain)

EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?

JF: I had the tremendous honor of being included in the Pixels at an Exhibition show in Oakland, California. I was also part of a group photography show at the MIR Gallery in Nashville, TN, a couple of my pictures have made the daily pick over on Shutter Sisters, and most recently, one of my photos, “goggles”, was featured on Mashable’s 10 Incredible iPhone Portrait Photographs.

I take pictures for pure enjoyment and for the tremendous creative release that it allows me to have on a daily basis. I also enjoy capturing the world as seen through my children’s experiences. Any recognition or validation of what I do from friends and the iPhoneography/mobile phone community is a complete thrill.

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?

JF: I am happiest when someone tells me that a photograph of mine calls up a certain memory for them, or makes them feel a certain way, or if it is just plain enjoyable to look at. I think the most surprising thing was when a close friend of mine, who is an amazing professional photographer, asked me to take a portrait of her family with my iPhone!


(Mirror Me)

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag? What app(s) do you currently use the most often?

JF: I have about 20 photo editing apps that I have collected over the past year and a half. My current favorites are Iris Photo Suite, Film Lab, TiltShiftGen, Pro HDR, CrossProcess, and PictureShow. I use them alone or in combination.
 

EC: One of my favorite photos of yours is “Evoke.” Do you mind running through a workflow of this peice?

JF: Sure! Thanks for the compliment! This is a self-portrait, and one of those times when I wanted to document exactly how I was feeling. I happened to be feeling very Hollywood that morning. :)

Most of the time I use one or two apps to achieve the results that I am looking for. Recently, though, I have begun to experiment with layering up to 4 or 5 apps. When I do this process I tend to just go by feel, not really documenting every step. I will try as best I can to recreate some of the steps I may have taken for Evoke.

STEP 1    This is the original, unedited JPEG straight off the camera.

STEP 2    Next I took it into Iris Photo Suite (my first stop for almost all of my pictures these days) to do some cropping and adjusting of levels. A also looked into all of the possible photo effects within IPS until I settled on the vintage canvas effect.

STEP 3    As you can see, that created some undesirable color splotches in the shadows and highlights. I didn’t want to let go of the texture, so I took the photo over to MillColour to see if some of the options there could soften things a bit. I can’t remember exactly, but I think I may have chosen the milk filter.

STEP 4  There was still a bit too much red, so while I was still in MillClolour, I played around with the color controls until things “felt right”. I still wanted a bit of something more… so I took the picture over to Film Lab to see if one of the options there could give it a final touch. I don’t remember which film I chose, and I may have taken it back to one of the previous apps for touching up, but here is the final photograph.

(Evoke)

EC: What other thoughts would you like to share?
JF: Thank you so much for having me as a guest. I am thrilled to be a part of this wonderful and supportive community. I have gotten to know so many talented and generous iPhoneographers out there. This is indeed a very special group of people, and I feel so fortunate to be a part of it. Thank you for taking an interest in my work, Edgar.


(Eye of the Pug)

Thank you Jennifer for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page, and on Twitter @iPhone0genic. I’m honored to have you on my blog.

For more on Jennifer check out these links:

Tumblr:http://jennifereford.tumblr.com/
Flicker:http://www.flickr.com/photos/gardenymph/
Twitter: @jennifereford

All images shown here are copyrighted property of Jennifer Ford, please contact Jennifer for copyright privileges.

©2010 iPhoneogenic

Leave a Reply

