iPhoneographer of the Day – Richard Torres

Several months ago the man behind “The Carpal Tunnel Project” reached out to me wanting me to take a look at his work. I was automatically drawn to the title of his blog, which I believe all of us iPhoneogrpaher’s can relate to the feeling of carpal tunnel syndrome after shooting and editing. In the months following my initial encounter with Richard Torres I have kept a close eye on his work and I can now see it has developed immensely.  

Richard in his own words…


(Break Time)

EC: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?

RT: I’m 28 years old. I was born and raised in a small town in California. When I get a chance I like to travel and discover new places. I enjoy photography, art, technology, and most things retro.  

EC: How did you get into iPhoneography?

RT:  It started back when I got the 3G and bought my first app.(Best Camera) I would take random shots and post them on Facebook in an album titled “iPhone photo of the day”.

EC: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW, I really got something here!?(please include the photo if you answer this)
RT: It was a photo I took while picking up a friend and the Amtrak. I thought WOW… I didn’t even have to use my DSLR.


(Fresno, Amtrak)

EC: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

RT: As a photographer it means never missing a moment and it’s a new way to express myself and keep the creativity flowing.

EC: Do you have any formal training regarding traditional photography?

RT: No. I’m some what self-taught. Thanks to the internet and it’s endless amount info.


(Man vs. Magazine)

EC:What about your hometown is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?

RT: My home town of Sanger, is a small town that is rapidly growing. It’s neighborhoods and town are rich in detail and it’s people live an easygoing life-style keeping it interesting and keep me wanting to capture it through my iPhone.

EC: Who or what are your artistic influences?

RT: My city is a big influence, small but photogenic. As far as photographers, my fiancée, who keeps me inspired with her view and passion. The street photography of Greg SchmigelJeremy Edwards, and Dominique Jost have played a big role on the way I see people on the street. I enjoy the black & white photos by Michael Baranovic’s and the creativity of Dixon Hamby and Aik Beng Chia


(Motion Sickness Ends Here)

EC: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

RT: My only challenge is putting it away. Especially at the table, work, or when I’m trying to go to sleep.

EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?

RT: I’ve had a couple of photos featured on Pixels The art of the iPhone  titled “Red hat special” and “Tonka Who? on Bickr titled “Tunnel vision”.  I honestly didn’t know what to expect when I started to show my work. So with all the talent out there in the iPhone community, I’m satisfied and humbled when someone follows me on Twitter/Tumblr or reblogs one of my photos.  


(Donations Accepted)

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?

RT: The most predictable reaction has to be “wow, you took that with your phone”. The most surprising and favorite reaction, is when someone says, “look at this photo I took with my phone, your photo got me looking at things different.

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag? What app(s) do you currently use the most often?

RT: My current go to apps are Filterstorm and CrossProcess. I also use ShakeItPhoto, Best Camera, PicturShow, Hipstamatic, Vint B&W, Big Button, and TiltShiftGen.

EC: Would you mind telling us how you have created a piece of iPhonographic work from start to finish?

RT: Sure.

STEP I: This photo was simple. I took it using the Hipsatmataic app.
lens: John S
film: Ina’s 1969
flash: Off

STEP 2: Not satisfied with the first photo, I ran it through the Filterstorm app and bumped up the brightness/contrast.


(First Night of Rain)

EC: What other thoughts would you like to share?

RT: I want to thank you Edgar for your hard work. I am honored to be featured on iPhoneogenic amongst some very talented photographers. To the people who follow me on Twitter/Tumblr and all the  iPhone blogs out there, thanks for the support!

Thank you Richard for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, the  iPhoneogenic Facebook Page, and on Twitter @iPhone0genic. I’m pleased and very honored to have you on my blog.

For more on Richard check out these links:

Tumblr: The Carpal Tunnel Project
Twitter:  @richardtorres

All images shown here are copyrighted property of the artist, please contact Richard Torres for copyright privileges.

Leave a Reply

