iPhoneographer of the Day – Celeste Calvet | @Celeste_c

Celeste Calvet is an iPhoneographer based in England who’s work is spectacular. Her alias says it all, Celestial View. Her vision is liken to that of Daniel Berman and Robert-Paul Jansen’s countryside captures and channels the dreamy and analog look of Drik Dallas.


(Not a sound)

The iPhoneography story of Celeste Calvet…

EC: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?

CC: I am originally from Buenos Aires, Argentina, but I have been based in the south of England for a decade. I changed the big city for the rolling hills of the countryside.

I trained as a Graphic Designer and Media Studies, but I changed my profession long ago. I am now a teacher and personal coach and I am also in charge of publications rights for a charity.

Apart from IPhoneography, I draw and keep a blog with my drawings, too.

EC: How did you get into iPhoneography?

CC: A friend and I were riding a bus through the countryside and she showed me the ShakeIt app. I download it right there, while the bus negotiated narrow lanes. The same day, while my friend and I visited a town, had lunch and tea and did some shopping, I took  more than 30 photos. Everything looked beautiful to my eye compared to the capabilites of the native IPhone camera. And still does.

EC: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW, I really got something here!?

CC: This simple photo of a tea set, looked dreamy to me and captured the light of the room and the atmosphere of that tea moment, perfectly. Although it is not a particular striking photo, it was one of the first ones I took after that bus ride, and I fell in love with it. I did not think about it as something I did or created, but as something that appeared on my IPhone, like a little jewel.


(Be supple)

EC: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

CC: It has opened my eyes much more to the beauty around me. I am looking at everything in terms of light and composition now and marveling at everything I see. Trips have turned into something even more exciting now. And then of course, there is the second stage of the process: editing with the apps. That for me is a very creative moment.

EC: Do you have any formal training regarding traditional photography?

CC: No, I don’t.


(Embracing light)

EC:What about your hometown is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?

CC: The landscape of manicured woodlands and hills is gentle and magical. Light is playful and nature generous. Every season is a gift of new palettes and everything changes dramatically. Right now, the land is frozen and trees are dressed in silver. I go for walks and my IPhone is always in my pocket and ready to come out and capture what light does that day.

EC: Who or what are your artistic influences?

CC: Oh, so many! From art, to movies to books, things I have enjoyed and exhibitions I have seen. To mention two: the light in J. M. W. Turner has always moved me, together with the suggestion of much more that is hidden in every picture. I love Hammershøi too with its coldness, empty spaces and blue tones. And currently, many IPhoneographers, to be found in Tumblr and Flickr.


(Close up)

EC: What has been some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

CC: The limitations of capturing twilight. Not much more, for the use I am giving it at the moment.

EC: How has social media such as Twitter helped or hinder the way you choose to share your work with others?

CC: Twitter, Facebook, etc have created a nice flow of people visiting my tumblr blog. It has also brought people who were curious about the captions but were not necessarily so interested in photography. And they kept coming back.


(When in Need of Silence)

EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?

CC: I had a photograph published in a British newspaper, The Guardian, in spring. It was a forest of bluebells. See it here.

It has been very humbling and surprising to have so many good comments from talented people who take amazing photos daily. I love the vibrancy of the IPhoneography community and the appreciation that is so generously given.

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?

CC: People are always surprised to know that the photos have been taken with an IPhone. Some have said that using apps is cheating, like using photoshop. But in general the reaction is very positive.

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? What app(s) do you currently use the most often?

CC: I am currently using mostly CrossProcess and PictureShow. I played a lot with PhotoCopier. Other apps I have are CameraBag, ShakeItPhoto, Lo-Mob, Plastic Bullet, Photo fx, Iris, PhotoForge… and I am still using and loving, ShakeIt.

EC: Do you mind telling us how you have created a recent piece of iPhonographic work from start to finish?

CC: Sure, here it goes:

Step 1: This one is the original photo. I took it with CrossProcess:

The trees as I saw them were almost on fire. The background of a big white cloud and a little bit of blue sky gave the scene a toy-like quality. The colours in the photo came out dull and there was not much contrast. They do not show at all what I saw.

Step 2:  I then open it with PictureShow and after playing around with different possibilities, I chose the Vivid option as I wanted something with more contrast.

Step 3: As the result was too dark, I then opened Iris and I worked on contrast, saturation and colour balance, trying to come closer to what the afternoon looked like that day.

Step 4: Finally I opened the photo once again with PictureShow only to have a clean white frame around it that had been altered in the previous steps. And voila!

Q: What other thoughts would you like to share?

A: Thank you very much for inviting me! I am very touched as the people who have been featured here are so talented. Thank you!


(Two steps)

Thank you Celeste for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page, and on Twitter @iPhone0genic.  I’m pleased and very honored to have you on my blog.

For more on Celeste check out these links:

Tumblr: celestialview.tumblr.com

Flicker: http://www.flickr.com/photos/celestialview/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/#!/Celeste_c

All images shown here are copyrighted property of the artist, please contact Celeste Calvet for copyright privileges.

Leave a Reply

