iPhoneographer of the Day – Steve Angelkov | @steveangelkov

Steve is another iPhoneographer who’s work I came across by chance when he submitted work for the “top images” feature at the end of each month.  I really have enjoyed his monochromatic iPhoneography as well as the muted and subtle colored images as well.  


(Leaves)

Now the iPhoneography story of Steve Angelkov…

EC: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?

SA: I am 38 and located from the Midlands, to Luton, Bedfordshire some 12 years ago. I live with my partner and our two children, Samuel 7 and Ruby 3.  I work in Central London in Financial Services.

I have always had a little interest in photography since I was young, but this always used to played second fiddle to sport!

However, over the last 4-5 years, and since starting a family, I have been hooked on photography, and iPhoneography over the last 2 years.  I have always considered myself creative, so the photography side is a outlet vs the day job.

EC: How did you get into iPhoneography?

SA: Simply by mistake; and time pressures!

Working in Central London, I have always ‘missed’ great photo opportunities whilst on my daily travels; or event photos towards my ‘work photo album / my London’

I originally purchased an excellent second hand Canon G9; and although I got great photos, the processing side on photoshop, was cumbersome.

I have always had a flickr account, since the start of my photography journey, it was purely by chance,  that I noticed this massive iphoneography underground movement back in 2007.

I remember that I was checking B&W groups, and I began to notice a large trend in B&W Street Candid’s which inspired me.

Although, I only had a 3G IPhone, it wasn’t about resolution, but framing and processing.  I was hooked.

EC: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW, I really got something here!?

SA: I do indeed.  I had a meeting in Westminster, and arrived at the tube station.  Its a great structure, all grey and lumps of metal.

I took this photo as I hopped of the tube.  Technically, its poor.  blurry and very noisy, but this was the tipping point for me.

EC: How has social media such as Twitter helped or hinder the way you choose to share your work with others?

SA: Simply, it helps.

If you’re are a celeb, twitter is a forum to say ‘woke up, had a cup of tea’; and the followers love this.

But where Twitter excels is a knowledge resource.  So following amateur iphoneographers or professionals, its an excellent source of inspiration and also app or product reviews.  I use it twice daily.

EC: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

SA: Hard and difficult question.

For me its about capturing the moment, a photo diary. 

Those moments, where i have always said in the past ‘I wish I had my camera’; are now covered.  I have my iPhone in my pocket with the camera app open, ready!

The availability of  apps for processing takes this to the next level.


(rat race)

EC: Do you have any formal training regarding traditional photography?

SA: No none.  Initially I spent  fortunes subscribing to DLSR magazines, but I have now found the web and discussions groups to be a far better source of inspiration.

I will continue to learn and be inspired by my peers.

EC: What about your London-town is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?

SA: London is a fascinating place, and I find inspiration from the smallest thing.

I wish I had more time on my hands.


(wheels keep turning)

EC: Who or what are your artistic influences?

SA: I wont want to pick out any high profile iPhoneographers for particular attention, as I find the magic of any particular photo to inspire me; and these are from a wide base of iPhoneographers.

I love B&W street candid’s and architecture.  I would love to be able to get a grip on the painterly movement, some of these works are fantastic.

EC: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

SA: The benchmark set by other iPhoneographers.  Some of the photos I see are truly great.


(life’s a beach)

EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?

SA: Yes.  I subscribe to the Londonist iPhoneography group and have had two images used on their website.

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?

SA: Generally speaking, the surprise that after a series of simple edits, that a smartphone can output such images.


(shades of grey)

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? What app(s) do you currently use the most often?

SA: I have spent a small fortune of photography apps, seeking for the holy grail.

I regularly use Colorsplash for selective B&W or basic B&W conversion.  I then adjust the contrast in either Filterstorm or Iris Photo Suite and add a border in Pictureshow.

Or I may use cameratan, crossprocess or the now defunct camera+ for simple edits.

I regularly convert the same photo with 4 different edits; and sometimes stew on them for several days.  I
love the post processing side of things.


(rain stopped play)

EC: Do you mind telling us how you have created a recent piece of iPhonographic work from start to finish?

A: Sure.

Step 1:  Capture an image with iPhone camera:

Step 2: Open in Colorsplash for a quick conversion to B&W.

Step 3:  Open Iris Photo Suite and crop to 1:1 perspective (hit the ?:? bottom at the bottom left hand corner).

Step 4: Complete auto levels adjustment with the Historgram option at the top of the screen.

Step 5: Open saved image in the defunct camera+ and select polarize with FX Effects option. For those without camera+; PhotoFX app has similar options.

Step 6: Open Filterstorm, and select Curves, and taken image to liking.  Apply to whole of image.

Step 7: Create another Curves Layer to lighten the strips on the road.  This will be applied with an ‘Apply with Mask’ option on the right.

Step 8: Paint in the lightened areas to the strips on the road. A bit tricky.

Step 9: Open Pictureshow and select border of preference (This one is Old Mat).

Step 10: The finished file

EC: What other thoughts would you like to share?

SA: I love the editorial that you offer on your site, and it was an honour to be asked to participate. 

Thank you.

Thank you Steve for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, the  iPhoneogenic Facebook Page, and on Twitter @iPhone0genic.  I’m pleased and very honored to have you on my blog.

For more on Steve check out these links:

Flicker: http://www.flickr.com/photos/steveangelkov/
Twitter: @steveangelkov

All images shown here are copyrighted property of the artist, please contact Steve Angelkov for copyright privileges.

Leave a Reply

