iPhoneographer of the Week – Daniele Martire | @MD_photography

I have long since admired Daniele Martire’s work. He loves to capture people and things in non-traditional ways, sometimes adding a clever typographical message. Daniele does a great job of sticking to what he knows best, that being the lomo and analog look that his Helga gives him.  Look out for Daniele in the near future as he will be producing two exhibitions perhaps, dedicating one to his mobile photography.


(in dreams begin responsibilities)

And now Daniele in his own words….

EC: Tell me about yourself? Where are you from?

DM: I must confess…during the daytime I’m a boring Management and Automation Engineer, but on special days, I wear my iPhone and I save some souls from being burnt by the long process of time.
All of that, happening in Milano, Italy.

EC: How did you get into iPhoneography?

DM: I was always attracted by (DIY) photography! I had my sony a300 that I used in my live music shots…but it was too heavy to carry around with me all the time. Meanwhile I was using my light weigth plastic holga & action sampler; it shots with truly random amazement. The cost of film photography really expensive and I don’t have a free lab. Then I saw lomography like shot, they were digital and amazingly made by a phone, an apple iPhone! That’s why Ibought an “old” 3g, to impress my thoughts and feelings on a vintage/lofi mood. Anyway, my holga is always there, helping me out in situations where film is better than digital! Planning to use it’s lens on my sony!


(empty chair)

EC: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

DM: iPhoneography it’s the crossprocess of freedom photography. I choose mobile photography because I can have freedom in what and when to shot and post-process. When I refer to iPhoneography I talk about every picture that has been shot and processed with a mobile device, so even the really cool Android which has a growing community. As I do more and more, iPhoneographers tends to replicate vintage/plastic photography through their devices…that’s why It’s really important not to forget about film photography! You can pay less for a cute plastic cameras and spend too much in developing film, or get a “not so cheap” iPhone and get instant wonders!

EC: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go “WOW, I really got something here!”?
DM: Of course, those are two of my very first iPhone (3G) shots that made me go in “WOW THAT THING ROCKS” mode, here’s one:

(duaLity)

EC: How often do you work on your iPhoneography? Do you spend a numerous amount of time on working and reworking your photos?

DM: I usually shot when I feel a need to or when I see something I like and I don’t want to forget it. Truly, I don’t shot too often and usually I don’t delete photos often. I spend a good deal of time on post processing, giving the final touch I need to my work.

EC: How has social media such as Twitter helped or hinder the way you choose to share your work with others?

DM: Twitter is my favorite companion together with Flickr for showing out my pictures. I use Friend Feed to connect every social network I’m in, to spread the word out.


(and everyday thereafter they grew happier and happier)

EC: Do you have any formal training regarding traditional photography?

DM: I didn’t study anything about photography. Actually, I learned through the web, looking at others pictures and reading papers on wikipedia. More than anything, testing and trying.

EC: What types of subjects do you like to shoot?

DM: I love taking pictures of street life, people, and details. I love to incorporate square formats and typographic elements to my shots (see my album “Kafka on the shore” )


(Waiting… to be born again)

EC:What about your hometown is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?

DM: Milano is like any city in the world, it was made by people! People have a way of doing things here, people have feelings, and the city has color, all of which I like to shot.

EC: Who inspires you? Who are your artistic influences?

DM: I’ve always been somewhat stupid in remembering names, that’s why every photographer can be my inspiration. But the one who is truly getting me into photography is my girlfriend, who I would really like to thank!


(L’altra gioventù)

EC: When you’re in a creative block what do you do to break out if it? Do you look at the work of other iPhoneographers to be re-inspired?

DM: That’s what I call freedom! I usually don’t have blocks because I press the shutter whenever I feel like it. I don’t have any deadlines with my photography, it’s just me and my camera. No rules, just feelings to shot. That’s why I can advise to shot whenever you feel a need to, don’t be pushed in photography, because no feeling will be born from that.

EC: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

DM: I love shooting with my iPhone on the streets more than with my reflex. I used to be obsessed with quality. No so much anymore. Even if things come out better with the iPhone 4, pictures I make don’t need quality.


(I will stay in my own world, Under the covers I will feel safe inside)

EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where? Did you ever expect your work to be noticed by the iPhoneography community?

DM: As a fresh iPhoneographer, I’ve been featured on iPhoneArt.com as artist of the day.
While as a reflexographer I’ve been a Global Year Winner in Percezioni Fotografiche Firenze in 2008/2009.
Italy’s Nation Finalist in Metro Photo Contest 2008 and Metro Photo Contest 2009. 
I’ve had a personal exhibition called “And silence is another way” featuring my live music shots.
I’m planning to have two exhibitions in the near future, finger crossed!

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?

DM: People usually tends to post a comment only if they like a picture. And those comments are usually just a single word. But I love being criticized for not getting a “wow, amazing shot, etc.” I like to be taught, to be discussed, to learn new things from others.


(When leaves come to town)

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag (apps)? What are a few of your favorite apps that you´re currently using and which ones don’t you like?

DM: PictureShow, Camera Tan, Crossprocess, Photo Copier, PerfectlyClear, Impression, Touch Retouch, Tilt Shift generator, TypeDrawing are my loved ones.

EC: What other thoughts would you like to share?

DM: Don’t get frustrated by trying to get the best picture in the world, just try to shot when you feel a need too and that will be the best shot ever!

I was glad to have the opportunity to talk about my iPhoneography and so I thank you, iPhoneogenic! I hope there will be given more and more space for iPhoneographer in the photography panorama.

Thank you Daniele for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, the iPhoneogenic Facebook Page, and on Twitter @iPhone0genic.  I’m pleased and very honored to have you on my blog.

For more on Daniele check out these links:

Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/people/noquarter666/
Twitter: http://twitter.com/MD_photography
Blog: http://diyphotos.blogspot.com
iPhoneart: http://www.iphoneart.com/MDphotography
Carbonmade: http://mdphotographyita.carbonmade.com/

All images shown here are copyrighted property of the artist, please contact Daniele Martire for copyright privileges.

Leave a Reply

