iPhoneographer of the Week – Lindsey Thompson | @lindseyt76

Like many of the great artist that one comes across you immediately get a sense of what the artist is like. Lindsey Thompson transcends her personality through her work, allowing for a more personal connection to her audience.  I love how Lindsey captures her nurturing side through the images of her two beautiful children, such warmth and love melts the heart.  Lindsey has been a joy to watch as her vision and skills have developed since first coming across her work in the latter part of last year.


(Out for a Run)

Without further ado, I’ll just let her words and work do the talking instead….

EC: Where are you from? Tell me about yourself?

LT: I am originally from a small town in the North West of England near Liverpool and moved to Birmingham around 6 years ago. About me? I have spent my working life in the construction industry as an Accounts Manager. Nowadays, I can be found at home with my partner and our 2 children. I’m fortunate enough to have left the rat-race to be able to spend time with my kids in their younger years.

I have always had an appreciation for photography, my Dad is a keen photographer and grew up seeing my older Brother experimenting with cameras and capturing moments on the old cinefilms, so obviously a shared interest in the family.


(Lickey Lights)

EC: How/when did you get into iPhoneography?
LT: well unfortunately iPhoneography came a little late for me. I owned a iPhone 3G from early 2008 and never considered using it for taking photo’s for the first 2 years. I can’t tell you how frustrated I am now after taking it on a mediterranean cruise, visiting 8 different cities and not taking ONE single photo! Though to be fair to myself, I had no idea of the potential of my iphone as a camera. We were much too involved with our new DSLR to consider this an option.

My gateway into iPhone photography was in April 2010 using Hipstamatic ~ after seeing my Brother posting uploads on Facebook … I soon became obsessed with it! One comment from a friend at the time was ‘it will take over your life Lindsey…’! ;-)

I joined EYE’EM in the summer of 2010 where I shared my earlier Hipstamatic photos and then in October joined iPhoneart. I didn’t really start to explore the possibilities of more artistic expression until after this point.

(Flying High)

EC: What does iPhoneography mean to you?
LT: For me iphoneography is the beauty of easily capturing moments around me and my everyday life. Whether it’s a grand day out, a visit to the park or just the random things around me ~ I will always have my phone with me (unlike the Canon EOS which hasn’t seen the light of day for months!)

I see beauty in things I never noticed before. I enjoy looking around for the next photo opportunity. My photos generally tell a story of where we have been, each one holds a memory of that day or event. The bonus is a lot of them also capture my children in their younger years, I hope they will enjoy seeing these images in the years to come.

I love the creative side afterwards and the challenge of working with a photo. I never have any idea of what the end result will be, this is normally just based on mood or what suits the image at that time. I love that one image can tell a completely different story depending on which apps I decide to use. I don’t feel I have a particular style to my work as such, I like to mix it up and vary the look of my images. However, I am still unsure if this is such a great thing and after a period of time I may eventually settle on a more recognisable style. I still consider myself a newbie compared to some of the artists in the community.

Despite not having a defined style I have an particular interest with shadows, silhouettes and motion captures, these have definitely played a large part in my works so far. I also enjoy a huge variety of work from other artists.

Iphoneography is a great relaxation tool, lose yourself in a photo for however long it may take to process, the focus is purely on that image and nothing else. As someone mentioned on a Facebook group recently – meditation! I completely agree with this.

The final part of this process and one of the most enjoyable for me is sharing these images with the community. I love the reactions from fellow iPhoneographers and enjoy their support and feedback on my creations. Meeting such a wonderful and diverse group of individuals from all over the world and enjoying their work also, which is always a great inspiration to me.

(Family Life #2)

EC: Can you recall the first iPhoto you took that made you go WOW, I really got something here!?

LT: Yes, it would be one of my earlier Hipstamatic shots, named ‘rope snakes’. I love this scene. The little figure behind the reeds made this image for me. This was captured during the first real opportunity of using the app on a trip. Taken onboard a boat down the River Avon in Stratford, we were sitting right at the front and had some fantastic views. I remember feeling excited about the opportunity to capture some photos and barely stopped snapping away all day. I took a few images on this trip which I still like today.


(Rope Snakes)

EC: How has social media such as Twitter and Instagram helped the way you choose to share your work with others?

LT: Twitter has been a great outsource for sharing my work. I joined the site a little while before iphoneography but it didn’t really have much of a purpose before then. Then a friend in the community, Mayumi Ota, advised me to get more involved with Flickr and Twitter ~ it was the best advice anyone has given me with regards to iphoneography. I love the ability to share Flickr links through twitter and enjoy reactions and support from my friends. This has helped to get me in touch with great people who I hadn’t had the opportunity of meeting through
sites and also involvement with art folk who really enjoy our iPhone photography.

I have to admit to not really using instagram much, just because I know I’ll love it too much and really cannot afford the time to become obsessed with another site.


(Just Me)

EC: What about your hometown is so special that it makes you what to capture it through your iPhone?

LT: I would say that the majority of my photos so far have been taken in or around Birmingham. Capturing many scenes here, whether it’s the fantastic parks, the crazy architecture of the Bull Ring shopping centre or some of the wonderful sights of Bournville (home of Cadburys chocolate). Since I became more serious with iphoneography we have had an incredibly harsh Winter here in England. The weather is improving so hope to capture a lot more of what this area has to offer. Hopefully complete with great light and sunshine. Please?


(Alone)

EC: Who or what are some your artistic influences?

LT: I have been known to frequent art shops in previous years, I love contemporary art. My own favourites being the late Govinder Nazran, Sarah Jane Szikora and Paul Horton and owned sculptures and prints from these artists. With this interest in art and my appreciation for photography, I think this may be a happy medium between the two.

The majority of the influence comes firstly from my family and then from the people within the community, artists like Robert Herold, Nicki Fitzgerald, Lea Zimany, Mayumi Ota (Mimi), Benjamin Vickery, Rob unruly-e, Laura Peischl, Alessandro Greganti, Sandy (msbluesky) and Nicholas Corsalini to name just a few from a long list. Whether it’s being inspired by these individuals work or their support and friendship over the months, they’ve helped me to find my way in this jungle.


(Mr Cool)

EC: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

LT: I don’t think it’s been such a challenge really, as a general rule I just don’t expect too much from it, so if I get something good ~ it’s a bonus! …


(A Walk in the Park)

EC: Has your work been published before, if so, where?

LT: My work has been displayed at the EYE’EM ‘Spaces’ exhibition in Berlin, the P1xels OCCCA show in Orange County California and now currently at the Arty Gallery Los Angeles. I have had daily features at IphoneArt which led to winning IPhone Artist of the Month in November 2010. Photo features and Daily Picture recognition awards from EYE’EM, P1xels, iPhoneogenic, Life in Lofi, fotogriphone and iphoneographycentral, I feel incredibly honoured and proud of these achievements.


(A rolling Stone gathers no moss)

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag? What app(s) do you currently use the most often?

LT: I currently own around 70 apps, using around 10-15 on a regular basis, my go-to apps are Camera+, iris, blurfx, juxtaposer, photoFx, tilt shift gen, phototreats, touch retouch, filterstorm, idarkroom, lens flare, lens light, dynamic light, hipstamatic and more recently found a place in my heart for Noir Photo and Vintage Scene. I tend to fall into habits of using the same app for a while until another one grabs my interest.

EC: Do you mind telling us how you have created a recent piece of iPhonographic work from start to finish?

LT: Of course, I will choose my ‘Step in to the Light’ image. Making something out of nothing!

STEP 1 This is the original, unedited JPEG straight off the camera. I used the main iPhone camera for this, as I always do. This is not a great image!!

I noticed the opportunity for this photograph and wanted to capture the girl centrally in the walkway but this proved difficult, she was moving quickly and various people/obstacles in the way. I decided to use the apps to my advantage to create the vision I had originally.

After a small crop and straighten of this image in photoshop mobile I started the main first adjustments

STEP 2 I decided to use Touch Retouch to help with clearing away the space around the figure, I chose the ‘erase’ function, in hindsight this may have been best achieved using ‘clone’ but I went through a learning curve with the editing of this image. I used the cloning to tidy up the mess it left behind!

STEP 3 I noticed a light streak on the monitor near the ceiling (top left) I was concerned this may leave a distracting mark after the blur, so decided to play it safe and remove anyway.

STEP 4 Blurfx applied on full Median setting, then cleaned the areas of the figure, flags and some texture of the ceiling. Blurfx is a great base for applying textures, I find most textures don’t work as effectively without this type of application first.

STEP 5 I chose iris for my texture work, this being one of my favourite apps for this kind of effect.

Iris = Grunge > texture > metal ~ applied at 88%

STEP 6 The effect covered up some of the details I wanted to show on this image, so following step 5, I used iris masking (Mask over last action) to pick out the coloured flags to make them pop more. At this point I hadn’t used iris much for masking and was quite surprised how it automatically blended the image afterwards to make the masking seem more natural.

STEP 7 I thought the image was complete, then noticed a distracting pink stain on the blue flag, so decided to remove this using the ‘Clone’ function in Touch Retouch once again.

Then image complete!

(Step into the Light Image)

EC: What other thoughts would you like to share?

LT: I would like to take this opportunity to firstly say thank you to Edgar for inviting me to feature my work. Also a big thanks to all the wonderful people who have supported me over the last 6 months, you are the people who make this what it is and appreciate your continued encouragement and inspiration!

Thank you Lindsey for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, the  iPhoneogenic Facebook Page, and on Twitter @iPhone0genic.  I am pleased and very honored to have you on my blog.

For more on Linsdey check out these links:

Flicker
Twitter: @lindseyt76
IPA
iCentral
EYEEM
Pixels

All images shown here are copyrighted property of the artist, please contact Lindsey Thompson for copyright privileges.

Leave a Reply

