iPhoneographer of the Week – Souichi Furusho | @sfurusho

Some times you come across great talents stretching oceans and vast lands. Souichi Furusho is one of those talents I am referring to. Thanks to the sharing element of iPhoneography, Souichi is always close by. The man is an incredible visionary the medium has to offer. His work includes geometric shapes and fanciful dream-scapes that that leave the viewer in awe. Due to the language barrier some responses have been edited for the English translation, I want thank Souichi for even attempting to do this Q&A.


(Child)


EC: Where are you from?

SF: I live in Kumamoto, Japan. I work in advertising as a graphic designer here in Japan. I begin doing iPhoneography about seven months.

EC: How did you get into iPhoneography?

SF:  I came to know about iphoneography about a year after I bought an iPhone 3GS. Since then I have taken many photographs with the iphone and have started making “iPhoneographs.”


(Image pic #08)

EC: What does iPhoneography mean to you?

SF: Place of self-expression.

EC: How has social media such as Twitter and Instagram helped the way you choose to share your work with others?

SF: I depend on sharing through Flickr, Facebook, Twitter, and EYEEM, so my work is able to be viewed by the world. Flickr and  the presence of EYEEM are enormous social media outlets for me in that my work can be shared with various people. Social media has exerted full influence on me.


(Image pic #21)

EC: Who or what are some of your artistic influences?

SF: I especially have neither a favorite artist nor photographer.  However, Flickr and EYEEM has many influential forms of the medium produced by many different people which I take a liking to.

EC: What has been the some of the challenges of using the iPhone as a camera?

SF: My having wanted to do with iPhoneography in the first place has to do with wanting to create and post processing images like you can through desktop applications like photoshop. It is necessary to process to increase the variation of one’s work. The most important thing about processing an image on my iPhone is the swelling of my imagination. The iPhone 3Gs is a very good tool however, I want an iPhone 4.


(Image pic #30)

EC: What has been the most surprising or most predictable reaction from people to your iPhotographs?

SF: The response through Flickr, Facebook, Twitter, and EYEEM has been very surprising, various people enjoy my work by sharing it with them.

EC: What’s in your iPhone camera bag? What app(s) do you currently use the most often?

SF: The apps that I am chiefly using is Camera Pro and Iris Photo Suite. Especially, Iris Photo Suite is an indispensable app for my work. Others app induce: Photo FX, Photo Clip, Filterstorm, PhotoForge2, Noir Photo and Dynamic Light.


(Image pic #35)

EC: What other thoughts would you like to share?

SF: I think there are still few people in Japan that know about iPhoneography. I like a few others would like a lot of people in Japan to know about iPhoneography. My work should keep being made for that.

Also, iPhoneogenic thank you for introducing my work at this time, a marvelous occurrence.


(Shadow pic #15)

Thank you Souichi for participating in this feature here on iPhoneogenic, the   iPhoneogenic Facebook Page, and on Twitter @iPhone0genic.  I’m pleased and very honored to have you on my blog.

For more on Souichi check out these links:

Flicker: http://www.flickr.com/photos/sfurusho/
Twitter: @sfurusho
eyeem: http://www.eyeem.com/s/user:3725
iphoneart: http://www.iphoneartcom/users/1616/galleries

All images shown here are copyrighted property of the artist and are published on iPhoneogenic outlets with consent of the artist, please contact Souichi Furusho for copyright privileges.

Leave a Reply

